Shopify Email , 956 reviews

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 64% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 18% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 1 stars
January 31, 2023

Pretty basic email app. Does the job 80% of the time. Noticed that if you send an email to an app that supports dark mode on IOS your style is completely broken.

Mox Motors
United States
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
Shopify replied February 27, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time and sharing this feedback with us. We will pass your feedback on optimizing for dark mode to the development team. - David, Shopify Email

January 12, 2023

Simple app that is fairly user-friendly, but is quite glitchy. It jumbles up letters while I am typing, and the screen sometimes gets stuck and I can't scroll down - have to reload the page.

Honest Toys
South Africa
Time spent using app: Over 2 years
Shopify replied February 27, 2023

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. This is something we would like to investigate further with you and attempt some troubleshooting steps. Please connect with us using this direct link: -Olivia, Shopify Support

January 11, 2023

It doesn't support many languages, the templates are very simple but I get it, it's a free app after all. However, the inability to choose the customers to whom I want to send a specific email with an advertisement is a failure. You can only use customer segments (which are set automatically, cannot be edited and are pointless). Also the application may be free but very average. Lack of support - despite several months of use, I do not know how to contact support.

Time spent using app: About 2 months
Shopify replied February 27, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. To create new or custom segments, you can do so from your *Admin > Customers* section. Furthermore, since this app is developed by Shopify, our regular support channels can assist. Reach out on this page by choosing "Get Support" or use this direct link: -Olivia, Shopify Support

December 30, 2022

It is really basic. Does not offer proper statis. Does not allow to remail to unopened and very few templates.

Fine Art by Ane
United States
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
December 7, 2022

Para empresas pequeñas que empiezan esta muy bien pero corto y con poca info de precios para mas alla

Time spent using app: 29 days
October 27, 2022

On the face of it, the app looks good and easy to use. The issue is there is not a way to bypass customers who accept marketing setting. Some emails are marketing and customers need to consent. Other emails are non-marketing, eg status update, website down and these non-marketing emails do not need to rely on consent. Can only leave 3 stars due to lack of scope when sending emails.

United Kingdom
Time spent using app: 14 minutes
Shopify replied December 8, 2022

Hi there, EcigZoo. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for Shopify Email. Shopify Email is mainly meant to be used for marketing purposes, but we understand the value that can be brought to the app by being able to send non-marketing emails to customers. I'm happy to take the feedback you've provided us here to our Product Team for their consideration. I can't say what the result of your feedback may be, but you can feel confident in knowing that the team is aware of your review. Thanks again! -Imogen, Shopify Support

June 21, 2022

Very easy to use email builder. Horrible customer segmentation. Can't email people based on collection they did/did not purchase. Also can't email multiple segments at the same time.

Wildlife Tree
United States
Time spent using app: 4 months
Shopify replied July 15, 2022

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you find the email builder to be easy to use, and appreciate your other pieces of feedback here. I'll be sure to pass those on to the app's developers for you. Thank you! - Brie, Shopify Support

Edited February 1, 2023

The email builder can feel a bit wonky. For example it often gets no result when searching for a collection to add to a link and when you try to add a section using the "+" button next to a section it always gets added at the bottom of the page so you then need to reposition it. There's also a glitch that kicks you out of the editor and back to the main app page which happens pretty often. There's been no new updates since I original posted a review in May 2022 and the issues are still there. I'm reducing the star rating because it looks like Shopify won't be updating regularly. Would also be good to be able to have a "Show email in browser" button in emails.

Frames Footwear
New Zealand
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
Shopify replied June 13, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I'm glad to hear that you've made use of Shopify Email to connect with your customers. We appreciate the feedback that you've shared with us here and I will be sure to communicate your comments to our development team. -Victor, Shopify Support

December 20, 2021

This is the first time I have sent email. I don't know why. The email I sent only has the title and can't see any content. I want to recommend our new products to customers, but they can't see the picture and can't click the button. I don't know how to solve it, and I don't know how to contact your staff.

Time spent using app: About 1 year
Shopify replied December 21, 2021

Hi, there. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this great review and provide us with your feedback. We are sorry to hear you are experiencing this issue and would be happy to help out. I would recommend reaching out to our support team directly, so we can take a closer look into this with you.

You mentioned having some issues reaching out to our support team, so I would be happy to walk you through the steps. You can do this by logging into your store through the Help Center, searching your question/issue, then selecting "continue" at the bottom of the page that displays the search results. Thanks again for your feedback! -Marty, Shopify Support.

December 2, 2021

Email automations aren't available for this app? How can I sent an email to a certain customer? Or it's not possible?

Time spent using app: 9 months
Shopify replied December 6, 2021

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and share your feedback. Shopify Email is primarily intended to create email marketing campaigns and send them from Shopify directly. That said, if you are looking to send a specific customer an email, I would recommend simply doing so from the "Customers" section of your Shopify admin. Here is a guide that will walk you through how to do this. Thanks again! -Marty, Shopify Support.