Point of Sale

Point of Sale

Free plan available
Rating (4.0)
Reviews
Developer

Highlights

Built for your business
  • Use directly in Shopify admin

About this app

Launched

August 28, 2013

Languages

English, Danish, German, Finnish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian (Bokmål), Dutch, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Spanish, Czech, Polish, and Vietnamese

Categories

Retail

Shopify POS is the only point of sale that’s as good at selling in person as it is online.

Shopify POS unifies your online and retail stores to strengthen sales conversions everywhere you sell, streamline store management, and helps you build stronger relationships with your customers. It has all the essential features you need to make sales, track performance, and manage customers, orders, and inventory. With local pickup and delivery—and the ability to sell inventory from other locations—you can reach more customers and give them seamless shopping experiences.

Shopify POS unifies your online and retail stores to strengthen sales conversions everywhere you sell, streamline store management, and helps you build stronger relationships with your customers. It has all the essential features you need to make sales, track performance, and manage customers, orders, and inventory. With local pickup and delivery—and the ability to sell inventory from other locations—you can reach more customers and give them seamless shopping experiences. more
  • Convert more with features like local pickup, email carts and ship to customer.
  • Keep customer profiles, product details and inventory levels at your fingertips.
  • Sell and accept gift cards, split payments, returns and exchanges.
  • Accept payments anywhere with always-ready retail check out hardware.
  • Omnichannel built-in tools to manage your online and in-store in one place.

Pricing

Shopify POS Lite

Free

  • Included with all Shopify plans.
  • Best for selling at pop-ups, markets and fairs.

Shopify POS Pro

$89 / month

  • $89/month per location
  • Try Shopify POS Pro features with a 14-day free trial.
  • Best for selling at brick-and-mortar stores.

Shopify POS Lite

Free

  • Included with all Shopify plans.
  • Best for selling at pop-ups, markets and fairs.

Shopify POS Pro

$89 / month

  • $89/month per location
  • Try Shopify POS Pro features with a 14-day free trial.
  • Best for selling at brick-and-mortar stores.

All charges are billed in USD. Recurring and usage-based charges are billed every 30 days. See all pricing options

504 reviews

Overall rating
4
Counts per rating level
  • 49% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 23% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its user-friendly interface, seamless inventory and sales data integration, and reliable checkout process. They find the barcode scanner, printer, and card reader features beneficial, especially for businesses with both online and physical stores. However, some have reported issues with system speed and hardware quality, and have expressed dissatisfaction with the removal of the "Save Cart" feature from the lite version and the cost of the Pro version. Despite these, customer support is praised for its efficiency. Merchants also value the app's integration with the website and payments system, but desire additional features like improved sales tax management and the ability to run multiple discount layers.

May 3, 2024

Shopify sells you this app with certain features, then at a whim, and with no notice to the users, takes away those features and functions. It is routinely changed (with no notice) so that you end up with multiple errors at the check out and constantly have to re-train staff, and re-work all your processes.

As an example, the save cart feature (which they still advertise as available) is gone. The 'improvement' is clunky, hard to use, and full of bugs. They removed the one button to search for a client in your system to assign to a sale. They introduced a bug where the cursor jumps in the middle of you typing. They changed the only good thing they had (their search engine) so now it tries to auto correct your spelling, for names!

This is just the most recent in a long line of frustrating choices by the devs at Shopify. Their careers page actually shows you they *encourage* their staff to change fast and create chaos. It's literally their value set and culture - to make sure that there is no stable system for users. We actively search for other pos systems routinely, and will continue to search until we find something that is better or Shopify finally listens to its user base and corrects this poorly designed system. We feel trapped and lied to. Go read the user forums before you decide to use this system.

Pet Grocer Inc.
Canada
About 3 years using the app
Shopify replied May 6, 2024

Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review. Our support is always happy to assist and if you are experiencing any specific issues with the app please make sure you are reporting them to our retail support team through the support tab in your app. I also recommend checking out our changelog for the most recent updates to the Shopify POS app, and other areas of Shopify: https://shopify.link/N5vR. Your feedback is appreciated and our support is always here to help with any concerns or issues you might be having. -Shay, Shopify Support

May 3, 2024

We do not recommend this app.
Recent changes to the app were not implemented with us (shop owners) in mind. It was cumbersome and didn’t work correctly leaving our customers sitting at the counter…waiting…while we tried to ‘correct’ or re-enter their order! It seems the developers are not familiar with how shop owners utilized this app and install upgrades without warning, that do not work correctly and create bad data. Support for this app is sub-standard. It took about 6 weeks for a resolution to one of the issues and then created another. We have been using it for years and it had been pretty good.
Currently it barely deserves a one-star.

Black Wagon Kids
United States
Over 5 years using the app
Shopify replied May 6, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to learn more to improve services for our users. I understand you have had troubles with an appropriate resolution, so I encourage you to connect with our Retail Specialists specifically through our Help Center here: https://shopify.link/vRnL. -Olivia, Shopify Support

May 18, 2024

I have been using the free version for 2 years. Although it wasn't perfect, it did the job. The last couple of months have been terrible, but even worse, the last week or so. Completely unusable. So slow. The time it take to do a product search is way too long and the lagging is terrible. I can honestly say, it is not fit for purpose. Customers are waiting too long. The extra steps to add something to the cart and no more 'save cart' is very disappointing. I would not recommend this app to anyone in it's current state. Side note - When using an IPAD, if you connect a barcode scanner via bluetooth, the keyboard disappears. If you have variables, you still have to go into the product and select it, but you cannot because there is no keyboard.

Addicted to Vintage Furniture
Australia
Over 2 years using the app
Shopify replied May 21, 2024

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing some trouble with the POS Channel app. If you haven't done so already, I'd encourage you to ensure that both the app and device are up-to-date. If after completing those steps, you continue to experience a lag, please feel free to follow up with our Live Support so we can take a closer look into this: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. - Blair, Shopify Support

About this app

Launched

August 28, 2013

Languages

English, Danish, German, Finnish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian (Bokmål), Dutch, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Spanish, Czech, Polish, and Vietnamese

Categories

Retail

Built by Shopify

About Shopify

4.3 average rating

15 years building apps for the Shopify App Store

151 O’Connor St, Ottawa, ON, ON, CA

Want to add an app?

Try Shopify free for 3 days