ShopSync

ShopSync

by ShopSync

Connect your store with Mailchimp

3.8 of 5 stars(424 reviews)

About ShopSync

Connect Your Store With Mailchimp

Connect your Shopify store to a Mailchimp list in less than 60 seconds for free.

Increase your revenue potential

When you connect your Shopify store to Mailchimp with the Shopsync integration, you unlock features that can help you increase revenue and drive conversion.

Increase traffic to your site and drive repeat purchases

With the connection, you can use Mailchimp tools to get more traffic and start building stronger relationships with your customers with content that means something to them.

Understand what works so you can amplify your efforts

With a connected store, you bring your e-commerce and marketing data into one centralized place. This allows you the ability to understand the ROI of your marketing efforts so you can best optimize your marketing strategy.

Sync

ShopSync will sync all information in your Shopify store to Mailchimp - customers, orders, and products.

Trigger Automations

Use Customer Journey Builder to automate your customer’s journey to deliver relevant content based on behaviors and interactions. Remind customers about abandoned carts, win back lapsed customers, and follow up after the sale.

Recommend Products

Generate recommended products based on a customer’s past purchase history.

Segment Customers

Track and segment customers based on transaction details and purchase frequency.

Sync Merge Tags

Map customer information within Shopify to Mailchimp - use for segments or campaigns.

Initiate Pop-Up Forms

In one click, embed a pop-up form that converts your website visitors to subscribers.

Simple Set-Up

Connect your store with Mailchimp in no time through Shopify's app store. Once activated, ShopSync will import all information in your store to Mailchimp - including customers, orders, and products. We can also sync merge tags like birthdays or anything else that's important to your marketing efforts.

Use your purchase data to personalize your marketing.

Create custom segments or choose from Mailchimp's pre-built ones to market smarter. Target segments with your own personalized messages, welcome new subscribers, reward repeat buyers, or incentivize customers to return.

Automate your email marketing

When you activate the ShopSync app in Shopify, you're able to use any of Mailchimp's automation workflows. Automatically send abandoned cart messages encouraging shoppers to complete their purchase, re-engage past customers with relevant product recommendations, or prompt customers to leave reviews.

Integrates with

  • mailchimp

Media gallery

Support

Pricing

Free

Free

Pro plan

$5/month

* All charges are billed in USD.
** Recurring charges, including monthly or usage-based charges, are billed every 30 days.

3.8 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    66% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    16% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

COOKINA

The staff is knowledgeable and very helpful. It was a no brainer for us to upgrade to pro since our sync options are a bit more advanced. Well worth it because honestly, Shopify, Mailchimp and in our case, Salesforce, are not the greatest at helping us find solutions to the little glitches that all three keep blaming the other for.

uPVC.com.au

Excellent integration! ) AAA+++
Just what is required to sync with MailChimp...
Saves me the labour time of adding contacts manually!

Art of Kava

any help at all is reserved for pro. Absolutely horrible customer service because there is none unless you meet a certain requirement. At the very least your app should work as promised, even without support. Edit to respond to the reply: I connected with your team by mistake. Your team immediately told me that they wouldnt help me without looking at the message and told me if I wanted help I'd have to upgrade to pro. They could have read my email acknowledged that it was an error and send me kindly on my way. they did not however do that. Instead they sent a canned response that was completely irrelevant to the email. Which IS the definition of horrible customer service. I use your service and had this experience and decided it was noteworthy to share. I received a nice email response from the founder who addressed the issue. There's a lot of work that needs to be done on ur csr dept.

Developer reply

September 7, 2021

Hi Art of Kava, for one-on-one support via chat or email we do reserve that for our Pro users. However, if you're having fundamental syncing problems we don't mind helping everyone. For folks that don't require the Pro plan, we have an extensive knowledge base that can answer most questions about ShopSync: https://support.shopsync.io/.

Lastly, I looked into your note that came into our support desk. The question was more centered around two apps that are not affiliated with ShopSync. I would suggest reaching out to either Shopify or Recharge for further assistance.