Xporter Data Export & Reports

Xporter Data Export & Reports

From $7/month. 7-day free trial.
Rating (5)
Reviews
325 reviews
325 reviews
Overall rating
5
Counts per rating level
  • 98% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 1 stars
325 reviews
December 13, 2019

Does what it needs to do, and they provide great support if you have a problem or don't understand something.

Badr Hari
Netherlands
Time spent using app: About 2 months
December 11, 2019

This app worked great for reporting and sorting my customer attributes. Really easy to use and the price for the 'essentials' plan was a great deal.

ReindeerTrees.com
United States
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
November 25, 2019

Three stars feels as middle of the road you can rate, for an incomplete grade. Our company is in a holding pattern involving ping-ponging blame between the app developers to the Shopify support, without a concrete solution being formed. Our customer interaction has been wonderful, but the troubleshooting has not. We would rather have a solution than watching the blame-game email thread, but we are still right where we started. When it works, it works; when it doesn't, it still works but you have to do it three times (Is that too many times? We'll say that is too many times). We want to report that our support rep, Jennylyn, has been great. We hope this is resolved soon, and maybe we shouldn't have been prompted to talk about our experience with this paid app, until you finish fixing the app causing our frustration.

SAVAGE, The Ultimate Apparel Company
United States
Time spent using app: About 3 years
Modd Apps Inc. replied November 25, 2019

Hi SAVAGE, thanks for the feedback. I understand your frustration and apologize for the delay. The root of this problem is that occasionally Shopify refuses our connection to the server (API) to get your report's data'. We don't see this often, Xporter makes this kind of request 10k+ times/day, and seems to be limited to your store. We can only resolve this is by providing Shopify with information (dates, errors) to review logs and help identify a cause. Because your ticket was submitted through Shopify's portal, you are automatically notified of any communication between us. We do not intend to pass blame, only to find and fix the cause. I can only assure you that this issue has significant visibility on our side and we are hopeful it will be resolved soon.

Update Jan 2, 2020: Shopify seems to have resolved the issue, as confirmed by the customer.

-Jeff

November 22, 2019

Works like magic, the team is incredibly supportive and we couldn't be more thrilled with advanced reporting options within the platform. Highly recommended.

Caden Lane
United States
Time spent using app: 4 days
November 13, 2019

Xporter has been extremely helpful in getting our reporting more accurate. We use Returnly for returns and exchanges so that adds another element to gift cards and the Xporter team has always been there to guide us through the report templates so we can better investigate our data. I would definitely recommend this app for anyone that wants to go further with data and/or reporting.

Faherty Brand
United States
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
November 6, 2019

This app is just what I need and the tech support team has been very responsive and thorough when I do need to contact them

Farmhouse Pottery
United States
Time spent using app: 9 months
Edited November 4, 2019

Xporter is an incredible app. There are so many uses for it the sky is the limit. The support is second to none. I wish all Shopify App developers were as responsive as this developer.

Abaco Polarized
United States
Time spent using app: Over 2 years
October 29, 2019

Exporter Data Export Tool is a great Shopify app that allows us to easily create the custom reports we need for our eCommerce platform. The support has been prompt and been a great help.

THR1VE
Australia
Time spent using app: About 6 years
Modd Apps Inc. replied October 30, 2019

Thanks for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time, please reach out if there is anything else we can assist with

October 23, 2019

Took a while for to both of us to understand what the problem was and how to resolve it but job done and very appreciative to have the excellent support when needed.

IQOS 3 DUO
Spain
Time spent using app: 6 days
October 18, 2019

This app has a crazy amount of possibilities and the dev is super easy to work with. I highly recommend!

Lucy Avenue
United States
Time spent using app: 7 months