Advanced Product Options

Create unlimited product options & variants options

Shopify app insights
  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Free plan available

App highlights

  • Up-to-date tech: works with the latest themes

Advanced Product Options feature image

Reviews

4.6 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

Counts per rating level
  • 87% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 1 stars

Filter and sort reviews

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

Venym

Location France
Time spent using app 5 months

Hard to know exactly how many sales we have missed with this plugin, but one thing is sure, it's not reliable. We had too many price malfunctions. It's full of bugs when you want to add multiple options with different prices. The team is reactive, but the bugs may come back a day or two later. Can't recommend this plugin. And sometimes the plugin was not showing at all on the product page?????

Developer reply

March 17, 2022

Hello,

We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear you've faced difficulties while using the app.

As a rule, the app works stable and we do not receive massive bug reports from other clients.
Conflicts may arise if the app is installed on a highly customized theme or a theme overwhelmed with an external code.

We wish you all the success. Have a great day!

Sosofia vintage

Location United Kingdom
Time spent using app 8 months

The app is ok. But useless as there is no quantity tracking (so I have customer buying the same unique item twice). I contacted the support 8 month ago about his problem and told me they were working on this problem... 8 month later I asked again and reply exactly the same... When I asked them more details about this issue resolution they stopped reply to me.

Developer reply

March 16, 2022

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

We do understand your concern.
The current app version was released in production not so long ago and we are constantly working on its enhancements.
Inventory tracking is an essential part of any store and we are in the process of developing our own inventory tracking system at the very moment.

The inventory tracking system we develop is a very complex mechanism, it will allow assigning stock to particular variants, not just separate option values. Also, it will be possible to link existing products/variants from your catalog to our option values.
The implementation of such a system is a complex and resource-intensive process that requires time. But we are doing our best to launch it as soon as possible.

We do apologize for the temporary inconvenience.

We weren't able to find any unanswered tickets from you. The latest ticket was submitted on March 10 and replied that day.

Tahnk you.

Gift Moments

Location United Kingdom
Time spent using app 5 days

Support are responsive and so helpful! App has everything I required and is great in everyway but one. Whole app is ruined by the way they do price addons by creating clones or variants, just creates a mess of your products. Think they choose the wrong route here and should have used draft orders way. Such a shame and I won't be using it.

Developer reply

February 23, 2022

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

We do understand your concern and are sorry the app's working principle doesn’t fit your needs.
While developing the app, we were considering different ways of applying options. Draft orders have their own limitations such as incompatibility with discounts and other features related to the standard Checkout flow.
Generating custom product variants allows us to overcome these limitations.

If you ever decide to give the app another try please feel free to address us.

Thank you.

The Clay Impress

Location United States
Time spent using app 3 months

I need to be able to have an option for my customers to add a $3 item to some of my products. I also need that $3 item to be inventoried so that I can keep track of the item and know when to make more. The app will allow you to create and sell a separate product (the $3 item), but there's no way to inventory it. Also, when I have that $3 item added as an option, if any customer selects to add it to their purchase, the original item that they were purchasing is no longer inventoried properly. I've been running out of things and overselling products and not understanding why, but I finally realized its all of the products that Advanced Options are tied to. I understand that it's complicated adding on that $3 item as an inventoried product, but it's absurd that any base product with an Advanced Option add-on item is not being deducted from the inventory when sold. I know that they're working on this, but they've been saying that for months. I've been paying for something that's messing with my inventory and I'm not a fan.

Developer reply

February 14, 2022

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

We do understand your concern.
The current app version was released in production not so long ago and we are constantly working on its enhancements.
Inventory tracking is an essential part of any store and we are in the process of developing our own inventory tracking system at the very moment.

The inventory tracking system we develop is a very complex mechanism, it will allow assigning stock to particular variants, not just separate option values. Also, it will be possible to link existing products/variants from your catalog to our option values.
The implementation of such a system is a complex and resource-intensive process that requires time. But we are doing our best to launch it as soon as possible.

We do apologize for the temporary inconvenience.

Thank you for understanding.

Scented Soys

Location United States
Time spent using app About 1 month

I wanted this app to work for us so badly, mainly because the support is fantastic and to be able to manage one options list is a great timesaver. However, the variant options that it creates do not update inventory and has caused us to oversell products we didn't have in stock. Great idea for an app, but could use some tweaks.

Developer reply

December 12, 2021

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

We do understand your concern.
The current app version was released in production not so long ago and we are constantly working on its enhancements.
Inventory tracking is an essential part of any store and we are in the process of developing our own inventory tracking system at the very moment.

The inventory tracking system we develop is a very complex mechanism, it will allow assigning stock to particular variants, not just separate option values. Also, it will be possible to link existing products/variants from your catalog to our option values.
The implementation of such a system is a complex and resource-intensive process that requires time. But we are doing our best to launch it as soon as possible.

We do apologize for the temporary inconvenience.

Thank you for understanding.

Justdtips

Location United States
Time spent using app 2 days

Wanted to like it from reading reviews… but approved for them to work on my website, apparently I guess the code didn’t work for the theme version I had. They installed the code and got back to me with the report that it wouldn’t work. Left the code there and my page was displaying random characters all over.

Developer reply

October 11, 2021

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry the app didn't work for you and for the possible miscommunication.

I would like to stress out another time that the app works with your theme perfectly well. But it's incompatible with the external scrip by Dynamic Product Ads.

We didn't delete the app code to let you decide how to proceed. You could consider removing the script in question and proceed with the app testing.

Since you decided to discard the app, please let us know if you need our assistance with the app code removal. We'll resent a collaborator access request.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Cityluxe

Location Singapore
Time spent using app About 2 months

The app does what it offers. However there's an issue I have reported almost for a month is not solved - custom product is added more than once in the order. I have to manually check and refund for those overpaid. This is a serious bug but the developer fails to solve it.

Developer reply

January 21, 2021

Hi,

We are sorry for the inconvenience you've faced with.

We've finally managed to find the root cause of the issue - there were conflicts with items' removal in the cart.
Now, this should be fixed permanently.

Please feel free to reach out to us in case of any questions.

Allyce Virgin Hair Collection, L.L.C.

Location United States
Time spent using app 1 day

For $14.99/mo their support team needs to respond faster. I installed the app yesterday and submitted a request for installation. The team responded the next day (which isn't unreasonable, but other teams have responded within HOURS of receiving an email). While I was waiting I began creating a template that was relatively easy to do. It's not the best interface but it is doable. I received a collaboration request this morning & accepted it within 5mins because I was notified by email as soon as it came in. I have not heard anything else from their team after two emails to confirm that they have access. I also looked on Shopify to see if anyone logged in from their account, which they haven't. This is problematic because: 1. This is wasting time on my free trial. 2. As mentioned, other teams respond significantly faster.

Developer reply

July 24, 2020

Hello,

We’re sorry to hear you did not have a great experience. Thank you for letting us know about the slow service you received. We will handle that issue on our end. It is our priority to ensure every client receives timely assistance.

If you ever need our assistance again we'll do our best to provide you with excellent support.

Have a great day!

Byron Bay Gifts

Location Australia
Time spent using app Over 3 years

Totally agree with the latter review. These guys have gone AWOL. The app crashed yesterday making the add to cart button stop working. Couldn't contact them for hours. Had to delete the app (and lose sales while we were trying to figure out what was going on!) Lost all the information stored in the app. Not the first time it's happened. Happens about every 6 months or so? Great app otherwise but keep in mind - app makes the add to cart button 'crash' and support are really hard to contact. I would try to find an alternative - that's what we're going to do!
FYI Shopify offered their usual response - not our problem! Thanks Shopify.

Developer reply

July 8, 2020

Sorry to hear you had that experience. I have posted our findings on what caused the issue in the previous review, but I'll also duplicate it here:

It looks like some third party (with unclear intent) was using an automated script on one of our client stores, which was causing tens of thousands of fake products to be added to the shopping cart within a short period of time. At certain point it appears this triggered Shopify's product API limits, which caused the API restrictions to take effect for that store. Since we used to have one queue for all requests, those restrictions caused extreme delays in processing products that are being added to the cart. 

Shortly after identifying the cause of the issue, we implemented and deployed a solution. Moving forward we will be taking additional steps to rework the logic and optimize app's performance. 

WitchyLashes

Location Australia
Time spent using app 7 months

Really great app but the support is lacking and the software is not reliable. Works great 90% of the time and is down randomly the other 10. Word of advice, when you use this app as a product selector and it experiences issues you get $0 in sales, because customers cannot add to cart. This is the second time its happened it 6 months and if you're looking for support you won't get it. You'll just have to wait until they fix the issue, right now ite been about 5 hours for me, middle of the day, no sales, no support from Mageworks. I'll be migrating off this app and paying a developer to program an alternative option. I would suggest looking at other options because you're likely going to have the same issue and will have to change apps later on, costing you time, money and a good chunk of lost sales.

Developer reply

July 8, 2020

I'm sorry to hear about your experience. This incident was extremely frustrating for us as well.

It looks like some third party (with unclear intent) was using an automated script on one of our client stores, which was causing tens of thousands of fake products to be added to the shopping cart within a short period of time. At certain point it appears this triggered Shopify's product API limits, which caused the API restrictions to take effect for that store. Since we used to have one queue for all requests, those restrictions caused extreme delays in processing products that are being added to the cart. 

Shortly after identifying the cause of the issue, we implemented and deployed a solution. Moving forward we will be taking additional steps to rework the logic and optimize app's performance. 

Previous 1
Previous 1