Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads

Pricing
Price: Free
Highlights
Popular with businesses in United States
Use directly in Shopify admin
Rating
2.9 (440)
Developer
Shopify

Digital Downloads makes selling digital files simple, right from your Shopify store.

Sell digital files like e-books, digital art, graphics and more from your Shopify store with the Digital Downloads app. Whether you’re a content creator or a business of any size, this app integrates seamlessly with your Shopify store, making it quick and simple to add digital files to new or existing products, track orders, send direct download links to customers, and more.

Sell digital files like e-books, digital art, graphics and more from your Shopify store with the Digital Downloads app. Whether you’re a content creator or a business of any size, this app integrates seamlessly with your Shopify store, making it quick and simple to add digital files to new or existing products, track orders, send direct download links to customers, and more. more
  • Add PDFs, JPEGs, ZIP files and more to any product right from the app.
  • Set custom download limits and send links any time upon purchase.
  • Combine digital files with physical or digital product variants.
Highlights
Popular with businesses in United States
Use directly in Shopify admin

Launched

November 16, 2012

Languages

English, Danish, German, Spanish, Finnish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian (Bokmål), Czech, Dutch, Polish, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Vietnamese, Chinese (Simplified), and Chinese (Traditional)

Reviews (440)

Overall rating
2.9
Counts per rating level
  • 33% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 24% of ratings are 1 stars
June 11, 2024

Zero issues with the app. Works great, but we offer free POS PDFs for digital download - not selling digital products, so your milage may vary.

See for yourself. https://paintedheirloom.com/products/fusion-mineral-paint-digital-downloads

The Painted Heirloom
United States
Over 4 years using the app
April 14, 2024

Generally the app works well, I've been using it around 5 years, however there are a few issues and things that could be improved.

1. There have been several occasions where downloads have not been sent for a few hours and this has cost me time and stress trying to fix it although it did sort itself out in the end...

2. The main thing that could be improved is adding the download links into the customer account page so customers can download again in future. I'm regularly getting asked if I can send download links again because a customer has changed computers and lost the emails etc. This is a huge pain if the customer has 10+ orders and i have to send one at a time!

I have found a workaround for this though! If you open up the list of customers orders and select them all, you can mark them as unfulfilled and then mark as fulfilled again. This will send all of the emails again in one go! You may want to uncheck 'send notification to customer' otherwise they'll get a 'your order is on the way' email too which is not needed!

3. There's no way for a customer to download all files in one go. A zip file would be nice. For example if they buy 50 digital products in one order they will need to download all 50 from different links. It would be much better if it could generate a zip from all of the files and create a single link for that.

Hope this helps!

Rewired Records
United Kingdom
Over 8 years using the app
April 16, 2024

I too have had no problem with this app. It does what it's supposed to do. I've not had any complaints? I'm not sure why the low rating. Now Shopify tells me to contact the developer and update it.? But the Developer is Shopify. I see an answer from them below saying that they are working on it and it gives a link to their progress but the link doesn't work. ??

Grisha Stewart Dog Store
United States
Over 2 years using the app
May 24, 2024

App works for downloading digital images, then it stops functioning properly. Its glitchy. Now instead of automatically allowing users to receive a link in checkout confirmation... it "hangs up" and states there is a delay. When I look in admin, there is an unfulfilled status on the purchase.

So instead of automatically fulfilling the order, it hangs up and waits for a response on the admin side.

These orders are all digital download and have NO physical products in the order, which will cuase this issue, but we do not have that case. All digital.

A second issue, if you add your digital file using the link provided when setting up the produce it will not actually add the downloadable file. You have to do this in two steps. Add your product as you normally would, then go in through the app, find the product and add the download file.

Scott Farmer Art
United States
8 months using the app
Shopify replied May 27, 2024

Hi, there. Thank you for sharing your experience and feedback! I'm happy to pass this on to our team who looks into improvements we can make. That being said, I'd also recommend you contact our support team through the Help Center here (https://shopify.link/vRnL) so we can take a look at this with you. We'd be happy to review this and see what we can do to help get it working as expected. -Erin, Shopify Support

April 20, 2024

App was working really well for about a year. However, for the past couple months, it's been extremely buggy, and Shopify seems to have no solution. It says 'Unsupported' under the settings page. Files don't upload for me anymore, or they upload but I'm not able to save changes. One of my products has 2 digital files attached, but the app only lists 1. I'm not sure if things are getting sent out properly either. I've tested different browsers, different computers... Nothing... So it's basically become useless, and I'm at a point where I need to migrate to a new app. Pretty frustrating...

RS Drums
United States
Over 1 year using the app
Shopify replied April 22, 2024

Hey there, thanks for the review. If you are experiencing issues with the application, try to clear the cache on your browser and try the actions again: https://shopify.link/b7xY. If the issue persists, I would suggest attempting to use a separate browser to see if that does the trick. For example, if you are using Safari - try this on Google Chrome. In the case that it does not resolve the issue that you are experiencing, you can speak with our live support by navigating to the Help Center: https://shopify.link/mLA. -Ollie, Shopify Support

Support

Shopify can answer any questions you have about Digital Downloads.

Developer

Shopify

151 O’Connor St, Ottawa, ON, ON, CA

More apps like this

5.0 out of 5 stars 255 total reviews Free plan available
Sell digital products, ebooks, PDF & digital assets in 3 steps
Built for Shopify
5.0 out of 5 stars 236 total reviews Free plan available
Sell digital downloads, products and keys in a few clicks.
5.0 out of 5 stars 304 total reviews Free plan available
Sell digital products, music, videos PDF via stream/download.

Want to add an app?

Try Shopify free for 3 days