i really loved this app before the update. Befoe the update you could add files to draft products now you have to make the listing live to add the digital files which defeats the purpose and makes thing difficult if your store is mainly all digital downloads becasue a customer might try to buy the product when there is no file attached. like why who thought that was a smart idea?now if you add product it dose show up in the app and how can you add file if the app dose not show the item, the work around is going on chrome. so that's fun
This app cannot send out updates if the volume of customers and purchases on the given digital asset is too high.
Shopify missed the boat here. Many digital creators have multiple files per product and you cannot do that with this product.
Thank you for writing your review and for providing us with your feedback and suggestion. I can certainly see why having the option to add multiple files to a single product would be helpful to you when selling digital files, and we appreciate you making your recommendation here. I will submit your comments to our development team for them to consider. -Victor, Shopify Support
It badly misses the ability for users to re-download their files from their account page. It is such a hassle to keep having customers email because they can't access the links or lost the emails. If that would be added the app is definitely more than worthy of 5 stars!
We appreciate you taking the time to write your review and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here. I can appreciate why customers being able to more easily re-download their files would be beneficial for both them and you, and I will be sure to pass your comments onto our development team. -Victor, Shopify Support
This app is awful. I’ve had nothing but issues. The download links never work for my customers. It just sends them to a page stating that there is an error and the file can’t be found. I’ve reached out to shopify so many times about this issue and they aren’t helpful and keep telling me everything is fine. I’m losing customers. I strictly sell digital downloads and I cannot be expected to email each customer individually their items. It’s time consuming and inefficient. I’m looking for a new app to begin using because I cannot deal with this one anymore.
Thank you for writing your review. I am sorry to hear that you've had these issues with the Digital Downloads app and that you have not received the support you've required thus far.
I appreciate that you've not been happy with the help you've received, but I would encourage you to contact us again if you're still having problems and wish to use the app. If the download links aren't working properly this should be something we can troubleshoot. You can contact our support team directly here: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support
The app certainly does do the job and is relatively easy to use. However, I cannot give it 5 stars without the ability for users to re-download their files from their account page. Having to direct confused customers to hunt down an email they may or may not have anymore is a poor user experience. That's a glaring problem, and I'll likely need to find another solution for digital products if I can't sort out a way to modify the template myself.
Hi there, LambdaFive. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for Digital Downloads. The ability for customer's to re-download perviously purchased files from their account is definitely something that we've had requested to be added in the past. I've gone ahead and passed this review along to our Product Teams so they can consider adding this functionality in a future update. Thanks again! -Imogen, Shopify Support
It's a good app but unfortunately the links of the digital downloads are broken now. sometimes the links inside the form and inside the e-mails are missing a "/download" path at the end. Please fix it. I will give you 5 stars then.
Hey, there. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for Digital Downloads. It sounds like you may be experiencing an email template issue with your digital downloads app, as the emails that send by default do provide a link that should be clickable and allows for a proper file download. I recommend that you reach out to the Live Support Team via thia link here (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA) so they can assist you with troubleshooting this and real-time, and can look into the settings of your app to determine a potential cause. -Imogen, Shopify Support
Great free app! Working very good! But there's one feature that i need( not only me i think), when clients cant get access to download link through theirs accounts on a website. Already checked this, there is a order status page link in theirs order information, but when you click on it - nothing happens. I have already contacted support several times , but never receive any reply. I know this app is close source, and you cant really edit code of it, but to fix it - its like 2 seconds with few lines of code. So please consider this.
Hi, there. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review for us here on Digital Downloads. I'm sorry to hear about this link issue you're having with your order confirmation emails. I'm happy to pass along the information about this situation to our team, but I strongly recommend that you reach out to the live team regarding this, as it could very well be account-specific. I would stress to the advisor you connect with that you're having persistant issues with your order confirmation emails, and that links within them are not working. They may be able to get in touch with our Technical Team for some assistance. You can use this link here to reach them: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Imogen, Shopify Support
I've been using this app for a while now and find it great. It is simple and does what's required and it's free, so I can't ask for more. The only issue I find is after uploading a pdf, the options are not available immediately but a simple refresh of the page and they are there. Support was great too when I needed help!
Hey, there! Thank you for taking the time and writing this review. We're delighted to hear that you're enjoying our Digital Downloads app! It's likely that the system requires a moment for the files to be available, and refreshing the page helps speed up the process. However, if you experience any issues with uploading files, then we'd be happy to further assist you via callback, live chat, or emails. Please don't hesitate to get in touch with us on the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA). Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support
Generic Chaos 2.0
Great that it allows downloadable content to get up and running quickly, but the interface feels outdated
Hey there, Generic Chaos 2.0. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review for Digital Downloads. We really appreciate the feedback regarding the user interface. I'll go ahead and bring this feedback to our Product Development Team so they can consider upgrading the interface in the future. I can't comment on any timelines, but I can assure you that it will be brought to the team for them to look into. If you have any additional feedback for us, feel free to share it with us! -Imogen, Shopify Support