Digital Downloads , 436 reviews

Overall rating
2.8
Counts per rating level
  • 33% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 24% of ratings are 1 stars
April 16, 2024

I too have had no problem with this app. It does what it's supposed to do. I've not had any complaints? I'm not sure why the low rating. Now Shopify tells me to contact the developer and update it.? But the Developer is Shopify. I see an answer from them below saying that they are working on it and it gives a link to their progress but the link doesn't work. ??

Grisha Stewart Dog Store
United States
Over 2 years using the app
April 14, 2024

Generally the app works well, I've been using it around 5 years, however there are a few issues and things that could be improved.

1. There have been several occasions where downloads have not been sent for a few hours and this has cost me time and stress trying to fix it although it did sort itself out in the end...

2. The main thing that could be improved is adding the download links into the customer account page so customers can download again in future. I'm regularly getting asked if I can send download links again because a customer has changed computers and lost the emails etc. This is a huge pain if the customer has 10+ orders and i have to send one at a time!

I have found a workaround for this though! If you open up the list of customers orders and select them all, you can mark them as unfulfilled and then mark as fulfilled again. This will send all of the emails again in one go! You may want to uncheck 'send notification to customer' otherwise they'll get a 'your order is on the way' email too which is not needed!

3. There's no way for a customer to download all files in one go. A zip file would be nice. For example if they buy 50 digital products in one order they will need to download all 50 from different links. It would be much better if it could generate a zip from all of the files and create a single link for that.

Hope this helps!

Rewired Records
United Kingdom
Over 8 years using the app
February 22, 2024

The app is now showing up as "Unsupported" with a warning message in the settings page that says the following.

"This app may not work as expected. Digital Downloads needs to be updated by the app developer. Contact them for support or uninstall the app."

I contacted Shopify Support and their response was to uninstall and reinstall which I'm not comfortable in doing with 300+ products with downloads. Then they said I should contact the developer...

Incase you missed that. Digital Downloads IS a Shopify App and I contacted Shopify to have them tell me to contact Shopify...

RingDivas.com
United States
Over 5 years using the app
March 17, 2024

This app has worked perfectly since I integrated it. The app has not yet produced any errors during downloads. There have been no customer complaints about downloads not working.

Mohairkollektion
Germany
9 months using the app
March 28, 2024

The app has been working for two years with no problems. but lately it's been crashing all the time.
And now a message appears: "This application may not work as expected".
It's impossible to contact the developer. I don't know what to do.

digitizingembroidery.shop
Germany
Over 2 years using the app
Shopify replied April 1, 2024

Hi there. Thank you for sharing your review. At this time, the Digital Downloads app is in maintenance mode. However, we will still implement critical security fixes or fix widespread bugs. You can review our public documentation here: https://shopify.link/vaWl -Mac, Shopify Support

April 13, 2024

If Digital Downloads no longer working... Just reinstalled it looks like after updating my store version might of cause the API to stop working.

OBD TECH TOOLS
Mexico
Over 1 year using the app
March 3, 2024

I need help understanding the problem with getting such a review rate. I'm delighted with this plugin; it's working perfectly and doing my desired job. I highly recommend it. I hope to get it supported and updated in the long term.
Best!

BeinCart
United States
21 days using the app
April 2, 2024

I love this app, but I just saw it's unsupported now.
I contacted the Shopify Support Team and they told me they won't update it and I should maybe consider other apps... This is sad!

STATIOP
Italy
About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied April 3, 2024

Hello. Thank you for sharing your review. That is correct. At this time, we will only be implementing critical security fixes or fix widespread bugs. We apologize for any inconvenience. -Mac, Shopify Support

Edited March 7, 2024

The App works as advertised BUT if you have a product with say 100 variants and you want to add a file to the order completion for download Even though all the variants use the same file you have to upload a file for every variant when there is only 1 file you want to use, so shopify again want you to upload hundreds/Thousands of the same file to there servers????????????
Adding a single product without variants is not an option as recommended by Shopify. That's will not work and if it did it's just a band aid for a botched piece of coding

Laserworksuk
United Kingdom
About 2 months using the app
Shopify replied March 7, 2024

Hi, there! Thank you for sharing your feedback. You do need to upload separate files for each variant, since in most cases you would be uploading a different file for each. If you're using the same file for all your variants, I recommend creating one product without variants. You can check out this help document (https://shopify.link/BWzd) for more information! - Greta, Shopify Support

March 18, 2024

This is the perfect one for me, easily downloadable. I did trial multiple time to cross check it's download process. This app is the best one to sell digital products online.

Shortly Studio
India
About 1 month using the app