Digital Downloads

Sell digital products in your store

  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Price: Free

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Speed tested: low impact to your online store

Reviews

3.0 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    38% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    12% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    15% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    14% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    20% of ratings are 1 stars
21 - 30 of 332 reviews

Blumqvist

It just simply won't work. It goes in circles over and over again but you can't upload a file or anything at all.

Developer reply

February 7, 2022

I'm sorry to hear that you've had this issue with the Digital Downloads app and we appreciate you sharing your feedback with us here. I would recommend first trying to access the app via another browser or device to see if the issue is still present there, and if it is, then uninstalling and reinstalling the app to see if that resolves the problem.

If you're still having issues, please contact our support team so we can authenticate you on the store and take a closer look at this for you: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

StarrInkDesigns

Doesn't work. Tried to use this to upload png files for sale and it just keeps saying add product once i hit add digital file. Set on a loop

Developer reply

February 2, 2022

Thank you for writing your review and for letting us know that you're having this issue. I would recommend uninstalling and reinstalling the app to see if that solves the problem, but if not, you can contact our support team for further assistance: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

Hoja Designs

Doesn't work. Studied all the tutorials, watched all the videos and nothing helped. It was just an endless repeat of the 'go to product page, turn off channels and save then click add file' page no matter what I did. Total waste of time.

Developer reply

January 31, 2022

Hi there, Hoja Designs. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for Digital Downloads. I'm sorry to hear that you're not happy with the functionality of the application, and that it isn't performing as you would like it to.

We would be happy to hear your suggestions on how we could improve the application, or help you address any issues you're facing. I invite you to reach out to our Live Support Team via this link here (https://bit.ly/3c5icUc) so one of our Advisors can collect your suggestions, and help find solutions for the issues you're facing. -Imogen, Shopify Support

Patterns by Lucia

It works great for me, but it would be even greater if you could add the feature to upload multiple files per item/product. Please and thank you!

Developer reply

January 31, 2022

Hey, there! Thanks so much for the feedback. We're happy to hear that you're enjoying Digital Downloads!

Your suggestion regarding multiple uploads for products is a great idea! I'll be sure to pass that feedback to our development team, so they can look into making that suggestion a reality!

Thanks again for your time, and please let us know if you have any questions. -Imogen, Shopify Support

Nabeel Khan Art

Was working fine but now it's buggy and won't let me add any new digital products. Shame as it worked fine previously

Developer reply

January 31, 2022

Hi, there. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I'm sorry to hear that the application is not behaving as expected, and we appreciate you letting us know about the issue.

You can try using a different web browser to login to your Shopify Admin and access the application. If the application works in the new browser, I recommend clearing the cache and cookies of the previous browser, as this should clear the problem. If the issue persists in the new browser, I recommend uninstalling, and then reinstalling the application.

If you find that the above steps haven't resolved the issue, then please reach out to our Live Support team so you can connect with one of our advisors. They can do some more detailed troubleshooting, and help find a solution. You can use the following link to contact that: https://bit.ly/3c5icUc -Imogen, Shopify Support

The School of UX

Worked well so far. Didn't have any issues. Download page styling options would be handy to have in settings.

Developer reply

January 13, 2022

Hey, there. Thanks so much for writing this review and sharing this suggestion. We can see how being able to customize the download page would be a useful feature and we'd be happy to share this feedback with our development team for future considerations. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

South of Indigo Photography

Not working properly, can't add new products, server issues when I go to the app in the admin page.

Developer reply

January 3, 2022

I'm sorry to hear that you've experienced issues with the Digital Downloads app and we appreciate you notifying us here. If you have not done so already, you can try accessing the app through another web browser to see if the issue is present there, and if so, you can also try uninstalling the app before then installing it again.

If after doing this the issue is still ongoing, please contact our support team directly so we can offer further assistance and hopefully resolve the problem: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

Feltto

I use this app to sell digital products and it's straightforward, simple, and lightweight! Definitely recommend to use this app. Really grateful!

Developer reply

January 3, 2022

Thank you for writing your review and for providing your feedback to us here. I'm delighted to hear that you've found the Digital Downloads app useful and we really appreciate you sharing your experience with us! -Victor, Shopify Support

The Glam Book

i wouldn't advise anyone to use this app, free or not. lately not one of my customers has been able to receive their downloads after purchase and i have been having to go back and manually email all of them which is time consuming. i have to shut my store down because of this to switch to something better.

Developer reply

November 30, 2021

Hi there, we are sorry to hear you have experienced this issue. I would advise re-installing the app to see if these issues continue. If so, I would then recommend reaching out to our support team so we can take a closer look into this with you. To get in touch with our Support team, please visit the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/3eNr2bD) and log into your account to create a support request. Thanks again for reaching out! -Marty, Shopify Support.

JumpShaper

Problems, problems, problems. Use the other Digital Downloads apps instead. I changed to one of the other ones and it worked straight away.

Developer reply

November 1, 2021

Hey, there. Sorry to hear that you've encountered so many problems with our app. If you run into any issues with our app, our Support team is always available to assist you. To get in touch with our Support team, please visit the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/3eNr2bD) and log into your account to create a support request. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support