Digital Downloads , 437 reviews

Overall rating
2.8
Counts per rating level
  • 33% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 24% of ratings are 1 stars
August 1, 2023

I don't know what happened but all of a sudden everything fails to publish. even a small 10kb photo fails to publish. I have no way to sell products now. Really need this fixed

The Hero's Cape
United States
About 4 years using the app
Shopify replied August 8, 2023

Hi there, thank you for your review. Please contact our support team about this issue so we can authenticate you on the account and investigate this issue in more detail: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

October 11, 2023

The app never worked from day 1. This is very problematic for a new store like mine. Just don't offer this if you can't develop a working app. Support instructed me to uninstall and reinstall. Waste of time.

Urban Nutrition Labs
United States
15 days using the app
Shopify replied October 13, 2023

Hi, there! Thanks for your review and I'm sorry to hear you're having trouble with our app. Uninstalling and reinstalling is a common troubleshooting step that we recommend with our apps and third-party apps.

I recommend getting back in touch with us here (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA) so we can investigate the issue you're having further. Thanks again! - Greta, Shopify Support

September 24, 2023

Great app, however it would be better if there was an option to sell a downloadable link as well, 5GB per product isn't enough for someone who is selling project files online.

DAN DEDEKIND
United States
About 2 months using the app
Shopify replied September 26, 2023

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we truly appreciate it. We can completely understand the benefit of having that as a feature for the app. I've gone ahead and shared your feedback with our developers to consider in future updates. - Blair, Shopify Support

May 7, 2023

What happened to the update file option? How do a replace/update a file now?
On the documentation page you still have the update/replace option but not in the app...

TraderPrint
Australia
About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied May 10, 2023

Hi, there. This page was recently updated, but you can still replace a file in the Digital Downloads app by clicking the product you want to edit, and dropping the new file into the drop zone. You can also click “Add files” and the file you select will replace the existing one. I appreciate you letting us know about our Help Center documentation and I've put in a request to get that page updated. Thank you for leaving this review! -Erin, Shopify Support

August 2, 2023

The app installs, and with some jerry-rigging, I was able to get it to function. I never got the digital options on the product creation pages like the help pages and tech support used to try to guide me through. My store is still convinced that the single product is both a physical and a digital product, and provides double download links for each digital product. The app is functional, but it looks unprofessional to the customer. I am switching apps.

ElizabethBurr.com
United States
About 2 months using the app
Shopify replied August 8, 2023

Thank you for writing your review and I am sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience using the Digital Downloads app. I hope that you have been able to get things working on your store with a different app or otherwise, but if you're interested in using Digital Downloads again please reach out to our support team for further help and we'd be happy to troubleshoot further: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

October 12, 2023

While I appreciate 5gb of space, the downloads are extremely slow.

Ovani Sound
United States
4 months using the app
Shopify replied October 17, 2023

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we truly appreciate it. We can completely understand the benefit of having that as a feature for the app. I've gone ahead and shared your feedback with our developers to consider in future updates. - Blair, Shopify Support

August 3, 2023

This app is horrible and unreliable. If you considered using this app for your business just read through the reviews.

The Stitchologist
United States
About 1 year using the app
Shopify replied August 8, 2023

Hi there, thank you for your review. It is regretful to hear that you did not enjoy using the Digital Downloads app but we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us all the same. -Victor, Shopify Support

May 10, 2023

My customers haven’t been able to download the files once they make purchase. This does not make our store look good

Nonprofit Essential
United States
About 1 month using the app
Shopify replied May 12, 2023

Hi, there. Thank you for getting in touch and sharing your app experience. I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your customers due to the inability to download purchased files. I suggest reaching out to our support team through the Help Center (https://bit.ly/3cJkx8V) so we can look into this for you. - Victoria, Shopify Support.

June 17, 2023

Not being able to upload pdf file as digital product resolve this as soon as possible or suggest solution

Googleemart
India
3 months using the app
Shopify replied June 20, 2023

Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing some trouble with the Digital Downloads app. If you haven't done so already, I'd encourage you to connect with our Live Support so we can take a closer look into this with you: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. - Moira, Shopify Support

March 13, 2024

Merhaba, uygulama desteklenmiyor uyarısı alıyorum. Bir güncelleme yapılacak mı? Diğer uygulamalar ücretli, bunu kullanmaya devam etmek istiyorum

bueen
Türkiye
About 17 hours using the app