Digital Downloads

Sell digital products in your store

Shopify app insights
  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Price: Free

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Speed tested: low impact to your online store

Reviews

3.0 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

Counts per rating level
  • 38% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 12% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 14% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 21% of ratings are 1 stars

Filter and sort reviews

61 - 70 of 336 reviews

Forlaget drømmefangeren

Location Denmark
Time spent using app 3 months

I wanted to use this app for my e-books and audiobooks, but it only works for my e-boks. When the customer has downloeadet the linkk. The file is empty.

Developer reply

April 13, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback here. I would definitely recommend contacting our support team directly so that you can be authenticated and this issue can be investigated by our team. You can reach out to us directly here: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Oliver, Shopify Support

DuarteBFitnessCo

Location Portugal
Time spent using app Over 1 year

It is not bad, but when using this application, my product is processed immediately, which is not good because the customer will receive a processing message. I would like to ask for help to solve this

Developer reply

April 13, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and for outlining your issue with the Digital Downloads app here. You are able to choose between automatic and manual fulfilment within the app's settings, and choosing the latter means that the download link for the file will not be sent to the customer until you manually mark the order as fulfilled. They will still receive an order confirmation but they will not be able to access the digital product until you have manually fulfilled the order from the Shopify admin. More can be read on this here: https://bit.ly/3e2fjEf. -Victor, Shopify Support

instantcurles.com

Location United States
Time spent using app 5 days

I thought this app would be perfect for me since it's created by Shopify but it turned out that it's not working at all. I can't download anything and the download button doesn't work. Please fix that asap.

Developer reply

March 29, 2021

I'm sorry to hear that you've had issues downloading products via the app, and thank you for sharing that feedback with us here. It's possible that this may be a local issue so I would recommend trying on other browsers and devices to see if the issue is replicable there.

If the problem persists, I would recommend contacting our support team directly so that you can be authenticated on the store and this issue can be investigated more thoroughly. You can reach out to us directly here: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

Bubbakins Blanks

Location United States
Time spent using app About 2 months

I have started using the app and the digital file that will be downloaded after purchase keeps getting deleted. It seems like it is doing this randomly. I finally had to take the products off line because I had customers telling me they didn't get their download and when I check the file is gone again.

Developer reply

March 21, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and I'm sorry to hear that you've had this issue with the app. We'd be happy to take a closer look at this for you to see if we can determine what the issue is, and hopefully get things resolved for you. Please reach out to our Support team from the Shopify Help Center here: https://bit.ly/3cJkx8V. All the best! -Oliver, Shopify Support

www.HairPerfexion.com

Location United States
Time spent using app 9 months

It's good but slow. All my customers say they don't get their link to download until hours later. if the links popped up faster, this app would be amazing!

Developer reply

March 16, 2021

I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying using the app but am sorry to hear about these slow delivery speeds! I would recommend reaching out to our support team directly so that you can be authenticated on your store, and this issue looked at more closely for you: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and provide us with your feedback. -Victor, Shopify Support

Slather Bath + Body Subscription

Location United States
Time spent using app About 1 year

Only allows you to add one digital product. This app is not for anyone needing to upload several live downloadable products.

Developer reply

March 6, 2021

Hey, there! To clarify, you're welcome to add multiple digital products, however you'll only be able to add one attachment per product. If you need multiple attachments on the same product, you can always use an archive file type that contains multiple files, such as a .zip. Hope that helps! - Brie, Shopify Support

Blessed Be Boutique

Location United States
Time spent using app 11 months

I use this app once a week to send my email subscribers a free download. Just simply add the item as a product, then upload the file using the app. Customers can add the item to their cart from your catalog, enter their email address and it pops up as a download as soon as they check out and also sends it to them in an email! Super easy!

Jasrina Lovecraft Shop

Location Malaysia
Time spent using app 3 months

The upload is very slow/ It takes 30 minutes to upload winzip file to the website. I have check my network, and its damn fast.

Developer reply

February 15, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and I'm sorry to hear that you've had issues with upload speeds for the Digital Downloads app. If you're using large files this may lead to longer upload times, and if possible I'd also recommend attempting to upload your files via a different browser to see if your main browser may be causing any issues.

If you're still experiencing issues, you can contact our support team and ask them to authenticate you on the store so they can take a closer look at these slow upload speeds: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. Thanks again for providing your feedback to us here. -Victor, Shopify Support

LadyLunarCat

Location Ukraine
Time spent using app Almost 2 years

It worked well for over a year, but now it hardly works. My store sells digital tutorials, now customers are complaining that they can't get the file. I am posting this manually but it does so many times. I now need to explain to everyone why they cannot download their files ... I see that many have encountered this problem and it has not been resolved. I used the Shopify store because they promised that I could use digital downloads. now I can't use it ... I found other apps, they are paid and now I have to pay almost 50 dollars a month for this ... I'm very disappointed ...

Developer reply

February 5, 2021

Hey, there! I'm sorry to hear you're having these issues with the app - this is certainly something that we'd like to look into for you. Please contact our support team and provide some screenshots or examples of the issues, so that they can have our technical team take a look for you: https://help.shopify.com/en/questions. Cheers. - Brie, Shopify Support

wingwave Shop

Location Germany
Time spent using app 7 months

Some of our customers have problems with the Download. The Download is very slow. We figuerd out, that it is a problem with the Telekom in Germany, maybe. I can send a screenshot from a customer.

Developer reply

January 26, 2021

I'm sorry to hear that that you've had this issue but thank you for leaving your review nonetheless. Download speeds vary by location and ISP, which may be affecting the downloads from your store, but I'd like to take a look at this myself to see if there's anything on our end I can look at. I will send an email to you momentarily so please look out for that and get back to me there if you'd still like some assistance. -Victor, Shopify Support