Digital Downloads

Sell digital products in your store

Free

Reviews

2.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    39% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    15% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    20% of ratings are 1 stars
61 - 70 of 312 reviews

Wide World of Radio

I find Digital Downloads is quite simple to use. At first I was frustrated that there was no "How To" explanation of how to use the app in the app store.
I was putting the cart before the horse. Shopify Help had an easy to understand video on how to use Digital Download. I searched for a How to Use Digital Downloads in shopify help, came accross the "How To Use" video and the rest was a no brainer.
Digital Downloads works perfect for me.

Developer reply

November 17, 2020

Thanks for sharing this feedback. We have a great help document that outlines how to upload digital downloads here: https://bit.ly/2IIqtCq. If you're looking to attach digital downloads to an existing product instead, just make sure to follow these steps: https://bit.ly/3lSPrxH. Once a customer purchases a digital product, they will receive a link to download it on their end. You can read more details on this here: https://bit.ly/2UD7SdD.

If you'd prefer to speak with our team about this over the phone, please visit our Help Center (https://bit.ly/3kyE10s) to request a callback. However, I'm also going to follow up with you via email so we can chat through this process in more detail. I'll be in touch soon! - Rae, Shopify Support

Cap and Gown Direct

It works! However, the product page should have shown function details of what file types are available to upload, as well as link to the documentation here: https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/products/digital-service-product/digital-downloads You need to create the product as a draft, then find the "Digital Download" button under the More actions menu (next to "Preview"). Then you can publish the product after upload.

Developer reply

November 14, 2020

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. I totally understand how it would be helpful to have the supported file types listed on the app's "About" page and I'd be happy to pass this feedback along to our developers. That being said, PDFs are most definitely supported, but the file size must be under 5 GB. I want to make sure that you're able to upload your PDFs properly, so I'll be reaching out to you directly via email shortly. Chat soon! - Julie, Shopify Support

Flettede Fugle

Basic functionality is missing and the app is not updated by the developer. I gave the following feedback several months ago: 1) You should be able to remove uploads 2) You should be able to set a fixed download expiration date after a purchase (e.g. 30 days) 3) You should be able to download from a purchased download-link even after a product has been deleted in store 4) You should be able to have different languages in the download mail 5) You should be able to send a file instead of a download link 6) You should be able to open the app in the Safari browser. I hope you will implement some of these features soon. 7) A column with “Upload Date” could also be useful in the dashboard. 8) And a column with "Sales Download Completed %” so you could see how many of the buyers that succeeded in downloading 9) And a column with a status on the product (as just implemented with "active" and “drafted”) with the addition of “deleted” 10) Name should be “product” and another column should be “variant” instead of the “-“ separator 11) “Attachment” should be renamed to “attachment file name”

Developer reply

November 13, 2020

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and for letting us know about the areas where you'd like to see the app improve. I'll be sending your feedback along to our developers so that our team can get a better idea of the features that merchants like yourself are looking for. - Oliver, Shopify Support

Snarky Crafter Designs

App stopped working due to cookies updates. (It needs to be updated to support the SameSite cookie security changes made to Chrome 80.) Sent multiple emails to the developer. No response. Super frustrating.

Developer reply

November 5, 2020

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us, and for letting us know about your experiences with the app. An update to Chrome earlier in the year changed the way it handles cookies, requiring a parameter named SameSite. All Shopify apps have been fixed to include this. If you're still receiving errors in regards to this it likely means an update is required for your Chrome browser or you'll need to clear the browser's cache. All the best! - Oliver, Shopify Support

Copyhead Marketing

An app with just the minimum amount of functionality it needs to pass as an app. Barely any onboarding to help you use, and if you leave it for a bit and need to come back to upload a new file, you have to refigure out how to use it. Disappointed.

Developer reply

November 4, 2020

I appreciate your feedback and I'm sorry to hear that you've been finding the onboarding process to be difficult. We actually have some help documentation on the Digital Downloads app (https://bit.ly/3lcxdH7) that you should find useful. There, you'll learn how to add digital products, add digital files to existing products, set download limits, and more. If there's anything specific that you need a hand with, I'd love to help. I'll be sending you an email shortly and we can carry on the conversation there. Thanks! - Julie, Shopify Support

Miasma Records

This app is just ok. Has basic features that allows to upload big files, but lacks lots of other important features.

Developer reply

November 3, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback here. I'd like to hear more about the types of features that you'd be interested in seeing here, so I'll follow up with you via email for some more details. Cheers! - Brie, Shopify Support

Deven Rue

I own an art-based (fantasy maps) and this works perfect for what I wanted. Simple upload of my files (including zip) and instant access for my customers. I did add a custom checkout thank you page for files to be accessed easier by my customers.

NFP Sports CT West

We have a customer that purchased 14 downloads and only received 10 links. I checked the download limits (all zero). The customer also fowarded me all the emails they received, so I confirmed only 10 links. What could have caused this and how can we fix it?

Developer reply

November 5, 2020

Hi, there! I'd be happy to take a closer look into this for you. The one thing that comes to mind is the customer having some sort of filter that began marking the digital deliveries as spam. I'll follow up with you via email so we can do some troubleshooting together. Talk to you soon! - Oliver, Shopify Support

Ananta Stones

We connected clickfunnel to our shopify app with digital file using this digital downloads app but Why is it saying "the order has no digital attachment" when in fact it does?

Developer reply

October 22, 2020

Thank you for sharing this feedback with us, and for letting us know about your experiences with the app. Clickfunnels is a third party service but I'd like to look into this further with you, so I'm going to follow up with you via email shortly. I look forward to hearing from you! - Oliver, Shopify Support

Pop of Pink Shop!

**DO NOT USE THIS APP. I would give negative 5 stars if possible. This app almost caused my Facebook ad account to be banned indefinitely due to the fact that a ton of my customers did not receive their files or was not able to download. This app caused my FB page to get negative reviews and a low satisfaction score. I would not recommend this app at all!! I never leave reviews but this app alone caused me to lose over $1000 in a day due to the fact that I was not able to run ads.

Developer reply

October 16, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review. I'm sorry to hear that your experience with our app has been anything short of pleasant, and I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Have you reached out to our Support Team: (https://bit.ly/38VPpi9) regarding your customers' inability to download attachments? We're here 24/7 to provide technical support and business coaching to our merchants.

While I don't have additional information regarding Facebook's processes for reviewing advertisements, I did notice that "Subscriptions and digital products" are prohibited as per their public Commerce Policies here: (https://bit.ly/3o0z6YY). Is it possible that your attachments fall into this category?

I've gone ahead and sent you an email to gather more information regarding the technical issues your customers have been facing with their digital downloads. Let's get to the bottom of this and ensure everything is operating as needed for your business. Hope to hear from you soon! - Ryder, Shopify Support