by Shopify

Boost global sales with country and language recommendations.

2.3 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    24% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    19% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    10% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    40% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

121 - 130 of 164 reviews

Gain the Sleep

The app is not bad. However I would really like to have the option to position the selector on the header instead of the footer. Another thing that would be very nice to have is the automatic switch of currency according to the location of the customer instead of giving recommendation to change it. Would be great of those changes could be implied!

Developer reply

May 18, 2020

Hey Gain the Sleep,

We do not add the selector in the header as it gets hidden on mobile which most visitors use. If you use the top bar or modal layout, most buyers will be able to easily switch currency.

Automatically changing the currency based on the IP address of the buyer can lead to SEO issues. We follow the best practices set by Google by giving buyers a clear choice to buy in local currency.

If you have any other queries, we would love to answer those.

- Geolocation team

The Happy Jack Co

The recommendation isn't showing in the header, only the little selector button at the base of the page (kind of useless down there). Is it because I already have a header bar?

Developer reply

May 18, 2020

Hey The Happy Jack Co,

We can see the recommendation in the header on your store. You may not be seeing this because it is based on the IP address of the visitor.

- Geolocation team

Serici Tech

I would like to be able to place it in the Debut theme header. At the moment it sits awkwardly in the footer, bellow social media etc.

Developer reply

May 18, 2020

Hey Serici Tech,

The new version of Debut theme has a native currency and language selector built in the footer. We do not support the selectors in the header as they get hidden on mobile. This is why we built recommendations in this app which are shown to buyers as a top bar or popup.

- Geolocation team


thanks for helping us this is the most likely application i advise you to use i have using is around 9 months


If I have a multilingual site does the default text "Looks like you’re in United States. Change to USD $? Change" automatically translated based on the country.. for example, if it detects Italian would the above text be in italian?

Developer reply

May 4, 2020

Thanks for the review PowaPod.

In case you have translated your site in to Italian with an app that supports the new Store languages section, then the Geolocation app will automatically display the text in Italin if the visitor's browser is set to Italian.


I cannot see the language selector again after the first time. My default language is traditional Chinese (hong kong) in my browser. I'm using iPhone for viewing.


Great simple app, works when many others didn't.

Super simple to set up and get working, just a few button clicks.

Flatrock Wetsuits

I'm sure this will be a great app but I can't get it working because I think the code is conflicting with an old currency app I had previously installed. Any assistance you could provide is greatly appreciated.

Super Duper Candle Company

Useful app. Works well from what I can see. Is customisable to an extent but would be great if you could use custom text.

Twin Roads

It took several attempts before I was able to download the app. Once installed I found that it got the pricing U.S. vs Canadian wrong. Not happy with the app I uninstalled it. For some reason, it's still running in the background and all my pricing is now wrong. I can't get rid of it. That's what happens with a free app from Shopify.
Can anyone help??


Developer reply

April 16, 2020

Hey Joe,

Sorry about the issues you are facing with the Geolocation app. The app is not running on your store anymore. You are seeing wrong prices on your shop because your theme's in-built currency converter is not compatible with multi-currency for Shopify Payments.

I would recommend you to turn off Currency selector in your theme. You can do this by going to Online Store > Themes > Customize > Theme Settings > Currency and then turn currency off there.

You should be then able to add currency selector and GeoIP based recommendation by installing the Geolocation app.

Let us know if you are still facing any issues and we will be happy to help.

- Geolocation team