Point of Sale , 299 reviews

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 39% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 14% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 32% of ratings are 1 stars
Edited May 24, 2023

Terrible experience trying to migrate my existing QB data. Don't listen to the sales people that will tell you how simple and automated the process will be. Two months later I'm doing it all myself the hard way. The hardware is all Apple so be ready to replace everything if currently a PC user. It's just like the regular Shopify platform in that several basic and obvious features are lacking and might only be overcome with another app. Want to save a customer cart in POS and later open it to complete the sale on a different pos device? There's an app for that.

Update: I am a pro subscriber and know I can save the cart on one POS device, but it's not possible to reopen that cart on a DIFFERENT POS device.

Tulsa Body Jewelry
United States
Time spent using app: 3 months
Shopify replied May 24, 2023

Hello Tulsa Body Jewelry, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We appreciate your feedback regarding your experience with migrating your existing QB data, please feel free to add any specific issue you may have experience with the migration. Regarding the hardware, we understand that our POS system is currently optimized for use with Apple and Android devices and not PC. If you have any features you are looking to see in the Shopify Platformm, please let us know and we will be happy to review your feedback, our goal is to make the platform fit our merchants needs. Regarding the "save cart" feature, we do offer with our POS Pro Plan.

May 16, 2023

You get to pay an extra $92 for the admin panel that includes an overpriced website hosting you just might never ever need. Then it uses only very few options of printers which are really scare in locations and outside US and Europe and unnecessarily expensive. An Epson printer costs about $287(excluding shipping fees).

Overall, the coating isn’t friendly or logical at all. Had to drop it. Will not recommend.

Seinde Signature
Time spent using app: 18 days
Shopify replied May 16, 2023

Hello Seinde Signature, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I'll let our team know about your review .They look into feedback from merchants and take it into consideration for use on our platform. I'm sure other merchants such as yourself have had similar needs, so we may see this feature implemented on Shopify in the future!

May 14, 2023

Changed my pin to log in to Shopify settings, pos, but now I can't get into my pos go. What's going on? It's as if the Shopify settings don't connect to Shopify pos go. The Shopify pos for my iPhone doesn't work either. I log in then it asks me for the location and when I add the location and try to continue nothing happens. The screen doesn't move forward or backward. Left wondering, why am I spending and losing so much money with this company.

Khaki's Beauty
United States
Time spent using app: About 1 year
Shopify replied May 16, 2023

Hello Khaki's Beauty, thank you for leaving your feedback. We understand that you are not able to log in to the POS app. Here are the steps we recommend you follow:

- Make sure the POS app is up to date on both devices, need to be 8.9.0 version.
- Reset the app:

1.Go to your device settings

2.Scroll down until you find Shopify POS. Tap in.

3.You'll see Reset Account. Tap in.

4.There'll be a toggle that you can tap to reset all the app data + current logged in user. Tap the toggle.

5. [Force close the POS app](https://support.apple.com/en-ca/HT201330)  + reopen.

I know it has been a few days since you left the review, so iI hope you were able to get this fixed with our Retail Support.

May 11, 2023

I have been a vendor at 4 festivals so far for a total of 6 full days and used their chip reader and this POS app. No problems other than disconnecting from the hot spot a couple times due to my phone or IPad. Although I could not print the report offered on days totals from the POS the print button was not clickable. Very easy to use and set up. Just have to make sure products are set to POS in Shopify admin. and disable tax setting when done if you're collecting taxes in another state temporarily. Other wise taxes will be collected on online orders if someone from that state orders online. Setting up inventory for the POS in the Shopify admin is confusing for me, for others probably not so. When I have more time I will call support to help me figure out. The POS app and reader has worked well for me.

United States
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
May 3, 2023

we were on the Shopify Plus subscription for a year and cancelled. Shopify Plus comes with the feature of Shopify POS Pro and we did not have this feature prior to being on Shopify Plus. A few months after being cancelled from Shopify Plus, Shopify just decided to activate Shopify POS Pro on three of our stores with NO authorization. I'm trying to run my business not take hours of my time to have you reverse a feature you place on my three stores without our authorization.

Luxe B Pampas Grass Wholesale
Time spent using app: 10 months
Shopify replied May 16, 2023

Dear Luxe B Pampas Grass Wholesale, thank you for leaving your feedback. We appreciate your concerns and would like to address them:

We understand that after downgrading from Shopify Plus, you were still subscribed to the POS Pro plan. This is expected, as downgrading your online account won't affect the POS plan. We don't change the plan from Pro to Lite without the merchant's consent and the same if it changes to the PRO. If you want to change your plan, it needs to be done under the POS channel. It won't change if you downgrade your online plan.

May 1, 2023

Really not designed well, can't use Laptop/PC (which runs Shopify!), scanning items takes too long, with too many 'select' steps, just want to barcode scan and move quickly to get customers through in-store checkout process.

Buggy connectivity to Wisepad3 card reader. Merchant fees are higher than using a standalone EFTPOS machine (even after Shopify surcharge).

Only reason still have this app is it is a stitch-up for some Stocky app functionality :(

The Combat Company
Time spent using app: About 2 months
Shopify replied May 16, 2023

Hello The Combat Company, thank you for leaving your feedback. We appreciate your feedback about having our POS work on a computer. At the moment, our system can only be used on a device and cannot support working on a computer and I am happy to send this as a feedback for our developers.

As for the Wisepad 3 reader, if you are having issues with the connection make sure that the card reader is at least 50% charged and the POS is up to date, which is 8.9.0. Please reach out to our Retail Support by sending your POS logs. We are here 24/7 to help.

April 21, 2023

Super easy so far. I am a physical store and purchased the iPad stand, barcode reader, receipt printer and chip reader. I purchased a cheaper cash drawer off Amazon. Everything was able to set up smoothly, including the cash drawer. I am not tech savvy, but I was able to set it up myself with no issues. With the barcode scanner, checkout is a breeze. The app makes it possible to personalize options. Add discounts in a click. Very user friendly. Once I am financially able to justify it, I would like to upgrade to the pro, but it's not feasible at this time. I would really like to be able to print a survey but haven't found one yet. I don't know if it exists?

Bougie Bottoms Cloth
United States
Time spent using app: 8 months
April 14, 2023

Nous l'utilisons depuis maintenant 6 ans dans notre boutique en France, l'appli est souvent mise à jour. C'est parfait. Possibilité de rajouter des applications utilisés sur notre boutique en ligne. Les stocks sont liés c'est super

Time spent using app: About 4 years
April 8, 2023

Poor POS app. Researching other options after just a few months. Not physical location friendly. Time consuming to enter orders and can't use a computer for POS.

United States
Time spent using app: 6 months
Shopify replied April 28, 2023

Hello bijoujeweler, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Please feel free to add any specific issues you have faced or reach out to our Support team and we can look into these with you. We truly appreciate your feedback as we further develop the POS app to be used by more merchants and meet the demands of the evolving retail world.

April 5, 2023

Do not use this app if:
You deal with a lot of customers a day, this will add minutes to every transaction just adding barcoded items to the cart because it doesn't do it automatically once a product is scanned.

You have lots of products with variants that you have to rely on checking the SKU a lot because they don't have barcodes, or the differences are not obvious in the title or photo. The SKU and barcode is not visible on the first screen when searching for a product. You have to click on each product variant to see the SKU number. Bummer if you don't pick the right one on the first or second try.


Sadly, I really enjoy stocky so now I'm stuck with POSpro because they don't do them separately and now, I have to pay for another POS app on top of it. Sigh..

Note to the Shopify retail team: I suggest you pop into a couple of stores that use this app and process transactions for half a day at each, you will soon realise how frustrating it is.

Also, why is POS not available on a web browser? We all have computers already, why are you forcing people to have to buy another piece of hardware?!

Mollies Make And Create
New Zealand
Time spent using app: About 1 month
Shopify replied May 16, 2023

Dear Mollies Make And Create, thank you for leaving your feedback. We appreciate your concerns and would like to address them:

- We have received feedback from many merchants about the SKU not showing in the product detail. Our developers have added the SKU section to the product page in their latest update.

- We also received feedback about the barcode scanner and have sent it to our developers for consideration. If a product has multiple variants, the scanner will bring up a list so you can choose which variant you want to add.

- At the moment, Stocky is only available for the Pro Plan as part of the feature. However, Shopify now has a section to create POs from the admin without any additional fees.

- We appreciate your feedback about having our POS work on a computer. At the moment, our system can only be used on a device and cannot support working on a computer.