Smile: Loyalty & Rewards

Smile: Loyalty & Rewards

Free plan available
Rating (4.8)
Reviews
Developer
4880 reviews
112 reviews
Overall rating
4.8
Counts per rating level
  • 86% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 9% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 1 stars
112 reviews
December 23, 2022

Its barely good enough considering it is free. There are issues with finding customers. The search is difficult and will only find exact, full matches. You cant just search by a first or last name. you have to have both.

The price offerings go from free to $50 to $200 a month. Which they need a lower cost option with features I could actually use. most of the feature even at the premium package just aren't useful.

Ashton Renee Boutique
United States
Time spent using app: 12 months
Smile.io replied December 29, 2022

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it! One of our team members has reached out to discuss your points made below.
- Hannah & The Smile Team :)

December 8, 2022

Ultimately I received a resolution to my issue, however I was bounced between agents a few times. They all at least seemed looped in, so that was good. One rep disappeared for an hours, and another jumped on only when I sent a new message saying that my agent stopped responding. I’m glad everything was resolved, but it took way too much waiting around. Otherwise liking the app a lot. Thank you.

Tiny Human Gear
Canada
Time spent using app: 6 days
Smile.io replied December 8, 2022

Thank you for your review and we are glad that your issue was resolved. We strive to respond as fast as possible and please know that our typical response time is within 24 hours. We are really pleased to hear that you are liking the app a lot!

We will be reaching out to you to learn more about the experience you had.

All the best - Hannah & The Smile Team :)

November 3, 2022

The app is pretty great, customers seem more enticed to buy. However the plan pricing is INSANE, well for a small business. What they offer for each plan is not worth the cost. $50 to $500 A MONTH? for just a "vip program". Might be switching to a new app that is worth the cost.

Mermaid Haus Jewelry
United States
Time spent using app: 6 months
Smile.io replied November 3, 2022

Hi there, Nicole from Smile here,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and be supportive of small businesses. I hear that you are finding Smile to be too expensive, and I want to explain a bit of our pricing structure to provide some clarity.

We offer a Free plan that includes our Points and Referral programs. Small businesses are able to stay on this plan indefinitely as long as they have 200 orders a month. We made this plan with small businesses in mind, so that they can start growing with loyalty at no cost.

Our paid plans are priced based on features. This means that instead of punishing businesses for growth by basing our pricing on customer or order counts, we offer more advanced features on higher up plans. That being said, I can see how if you are looking for a specific feature, like VIP, that is only available on our Pro Plan, the pricing can look a little daunting. However, it is totally possible to run a successful loyalty program without VIP. And, we typically recommend merchants remain on lower plans, until they see enough returns from their program to justify an upgrade.

I've reached out to you via email so that we can make sure that you are successful on your current plan and help you grow your business! I've also offered a free trial of any of our paid plans.

Please let us know if you have any other questions or feedback. We are here to help!

October 15, 2022

very good easy install app, but the problem is that it cost so SO much , you need to spend $200 for one of the app while free or $50 package is useless, i used it for 3 months, and can tell you that even $50 package is not effective. so you need to consider for a package for $200 only, so i will look for alternatives now. because it will never generate so much to cover $200 product cost. maybe some big companies can afford it. If you re a small company be ready to wait for 2-3 months to see any results and pay $200 / month so it will never generate as much as you expected to cover the monthly cost. So i recommend to avoid this App grow for at least 5k in net profit per month and then consider to install it.

F.O.X Nails USA
United States
Time spent using app: 5 months
Smile.io replied October 16, 2022

Hi, Nicole from Smile here,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback on our pricing. We are always looking for ways to improve our pricing to ensure that it offers small businesses a good return on investment at an accessible price.

We offer our Free and Starter Plans for businesses just getting started with a loyalty program. Then we suggest upgrading as needed as your business grows. I hear that you weren't getting what you wanted out of the Starter Plan.

At any time you are welcome to reach out to us and we are happy to help you configure your program according to best practices to ensure that you are set up for success. We are also happy to offer any ideas and help with marketing your loyalty program.

I reached out to you to chat further, so that we can help you increase repeat purchases with Smile on a plan that aligns with your budget.

Thanks again for the thoughtful feedback.

All the best,

Nicole, and the rest of the Smile team 💛

August 7, 2022

Its incredibly slow loading. Make sure when you start you set the points up the way you want them. The settings it comes with will immediately start giving points out to your customers. It was giving out its own version of high points so that when I set up the system I wanted all the customers had all these points and were getting rewards. Cost me money and then had to go manually lower the points for each one. So set it up the way you want it from day one I moved mine to $1 is 1 point - they had it something like $1 is 5 points. Also when you go to use the reward - do not close the window before copying the rewards code! As you will not be able to access the code again.

Sedona Apotheca
United States
Time spent using app: 3 months
Smile.io replied August 7, 2022

Hi there, Nicole here. Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. I understand that you initially set up your program in a way that wasn't best for your business. We are happy to help make any recommendations or help with any calculations to ensure that you are set up for success!

I just sent you a private message going over how much you are giving back to your customers. Our team of Experience Managers specialize in program configuration and strategy, and are happy to make personalized recommendations for your program at any time!

I also wanted to let you know that customers can access their previously redeem rewards at any time in your rewards panel. They can see all of their discount codes and click "apply code" to have the discount automatically add to their current cart.

Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with!

June 24, 2022

I really like to give this app 5 stars but I cant. After purchasing the starter pack (which you kind of have to) you'll find out that your $50 monthly plan is not enough to set a limited number of times a customer can earn rewards, or have more than one app integrated at a time. These features should have been included with the starter plan and not in a $200 plan and above...

Rad Aquatic Design
Canada
Time spent using app: 3 months
Smile.io replied June 24, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your candid feedback! 🙏 Our plans are structured to grow with our merchants so while the Starter plan gives you all the tools to uniquely brand your program it does have some limitations as it is our most basic plan. I have reached out to you via email to see if we could provide some suggestions as well as some solutions that might work for you! I look forward to hearing back from you soon! 😀

Cheers,
Joshua - Smile Team 🧙‍♂️

May 12, 2022

This is a great app. Its expensive but having trouble growing my rewards as the base programme doesnt offer nudges . Its is a super important aspect of this app . Please consider offering as we will get more growth and stay with the app .

Mount Longboards New Zealand
New Zealand
Time spent using app: 5 months
March 31, 2022

I just started using this app! I had some questions at first but the customer service was amazing helping me set the app up!

TayCo Boutique
United States
Time spent using app: About 22 hours
Smile.io replied April 1, 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your lovely review 💖 If there's anything that we can do to turn your 3 star experience into a 5 star one - please don't hesitate to let us know! Happy to help 😄

March 28, 2022

We have used this review since setting up our online store 3 years ago. At this point we will be looking at changing our loyalty point program. Anything less than Pro is not worth the money, and the subscription fees are out of control. We are frustrated with the lack of features in any payment plan other than Pro. We would happily pay a reasonable subscription fee for the app, but the Pro is an insane amount of money to pay for a mid-sized business, and the features in Starter or Growth are not worth it. I would recommend against other small/medium sized businesses using this app. I am glad the developers have found success with enterprise level businesses but they do not care or cater to anyone else.

Beehive Wool Shop
Canada
Time spent using app: About 3 years
Smile.io replied March 28, 2022

Thank you for sharing your open & honest feedback. It hurts, because we champion ourselves on supporting small & medium business 😔 . It's definitely not our intention to price anybody out of using Smile.

There's normally a way we can work together to figure out a viable way forwards. I've gone ahead and reached out directly to see how we can make Smile work for you.

Our team is online and looks forward to reconnecting.

January 21, 2022

We've been a customer for ages and I should note, we're going to remain a customer for now. But, don't count on their support team. I want to go on their VIP program and have been asking support about what the VIP program can offer our business. Basically, what I'm seeing they can offer through my own research, support are saying they don't do - but I can definitely see that you can offer % discounts. Support is saying, no not possible. When I mentioned we should try another rewards program support said 'See ya later!' Thanks guys. Really feeling the love.

Byron Bay Gifts
Australia
Time spent using app: Almost 2 years
Smile.io replied January 21, 2022

Hi there,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback. We've reviewed the conversation and agree that your experience didn't match our usual high standards on this occasion.

One of our experience team leaders has followed up with you directly to address this.

We look forward to working together to make things right.