Overall rating Based on 134 reviews
RUN FROM THIS APP. DOES NOT WORK. RUBBISH. Guarantee we'll get a faster response to this Review than we will support. The App is not worth the time, money and energy. It does not work with PixelUnion. It creates more work. Who has the time to wait 1-2 days let alone 24 hours with "premium" support for a response. Find a better Theme than using PixelUnion and this App from Out of the Sandbox. More importantly-find companies with better support.
Day 2 STILL WAITING FOR SUPPORT.
A MONTH LATER AND IT STILL SUCKS. LOOK AT ALL THE POOR REVIEWS-DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY OR ANY OF THEIR APPS. Shopify should dump them
HEART PUP on SHARK TANK Dog Carriers and Pet Slings by HeartPup
WORST PURCHASE OF MY LIFE! If you want to torment yourself & get nothing done & be set back months then BUYER BEWARE as you purchase. NO SUPPORT at all! No live chat, no phones, and emails are pointless replies that do not help at all. Features like HTML5 video don't work as advertised so emailed them and they won't help make it work then decide to install bare minimal version but first have to update to latest version and when try to do that then site says cannot validate purchase! So no version of Turbo theme is possible to download after paying $350!
Hello Heart Pup Team,
We're sorry to hear about the difficulties you've had with your theme and with our support team. While we cannot provide over the phone support or a live chat, we are committed to supporting your theme and it's built-in settings and features in any way we can through email correspondence.
In order to use the Theme Updater app, you need to register your theme license. When you purchase a theme, your license is attached to the email you used at the time of purchase.
We have received your support request about your difficulty with registering with the incorrect email address, and it's great to see our response made it to you and that you have successfully registered with the correct email address - you should now be able to update your Turbo theme to the latest version. We're pleased we were able to help you with this one, but feel free to respond to the message to let us know if anything else is amiss.
Regarding the HTML5 video issue, we'd like to work with you to inspect the issue and provide support - we haven't been able to receive a reply to our messages to assist with the issue, but we're still keen to help! Feel free to reply to our previous messages, this message, or the request for a Collaborator account, and we'll be on the case.
At Out of the Sandbox, we pride ourselves on the level of support we're able to offer over email correspondence - we're awaiting your response to our offers to assist you as much as possible; we'd love to get this squared away!
OOTS Support Team
Their Turbo theme has a huge bug that sometimes causes the Add to Cart button not to display at all on product pages (talk about a conversion killer).
I brought this to the attention of the support team 4 months ago. They wouldn't believe it was their theme, and just kept telling me it must be cause by an app I am using or customisations I did. After about 20 emails the finally believed me (after I found out the bug is even present on their demo stores) and I was told it would be fixed in an update.
Now 4 months later the bug is still there and the customer support as unhelpful as before.
I expected a lot more from the most expensive Shopify theme around and have received (much) better support from free Shopify apps than what I've received from OOTSB.
So here I am still waiting for their Theme Updater to tell me there's an update and hoping this time the bug will be fixed.
Sorry to hear that you haven’t had a great experience with the updater app as well as our support team - we certainly strive to provide solutions as promptly as possible, but in this case, the issue has been very difficult to reproduce and troubleshoot. Without that ability to consistently reproduce it, it becomes a challenge to find the cause of the issue, thereby making the solution even harder to find. While we take each reported issue seriously, some can certainly present more difficulty and complexity.
With our theme updates, we aim to provide solutions for issues like you’ve experienced, but each update may also address other issues which can take extensive testing. Having said all of that, we can certainly appreciate the importance of this issue and the potential impact it may have, so we do apologize for the time it’s taken to sort this out. We’ve sent along an email to you if you’d like to discuss some options a little further, and hopefully we’re able to come to a solution there!
We are in the Shopify ecosystem for the last 4 years now and I dont remember any company that is more unhelpful than Out of the Sandbox. Both technically and from a business point of view for the following reasons (we have purchased two themes from them and this app )
1. In 95% of all the questions or help requests you raise, they simply tell you what you ask is out of their scope and you should go and hire a shopify expert on your behalf. Even though these are within the main scope of the themes or are really as simple as sharing two lines of code with you, they turn their backs and deny you.
For this reason, we have shifted to another theme provider which we are really happy with as they are at least listening and seem to care.
2. Their so called "theme updater" does not do a good job, leaving you with lines and lines of code intact and not transfered to the new theme. What is the point in buying an app that is supposed to make the update process automatic if it requires you to adjust 14 different snippets of code manually? It does not work, thats it
3. Within 20 mins of buying the app and realizing that it is not doing what it is claimed to do, we removed it and asked for a refund. Same day in 20 mins !! This is the response we get:
"Please keep in mind that updating the Theme Updater App to the Pro Plan does not guarantee that customizations will be carried forward. Unfortunately, all subscription charges are final and non-refundable, therefore, we're unable to provide you with a refund for your subscription."
There are tons of sensible vendors out there to choose from, do your self a favor and stay clear of this OUT OF THE SANDBOX company both for their themes and so called updater.
We're sorry to hear about your frustrations with the Theme Updater app. We've developed this app to provide merchants with an easier way of updating their themes without needing to download a new theme file and reapply all of your theme editor customizations.
The TUA will carry over your theme editor settings and content, provided you are updating from a theme version that is already using Shopify's newer "Sections" theme editor.
When you select the "Preserve theme file customizations" our app will attempt to copy over any custom/third-party code in the theme files. However, if carrying over the custom code to the new theme will cause a conflict with the new theme code, the custom code will not be automatically applied, and a report is created to let you know which custom code needs attention.
The Theme Updater is presently a free app, with a Pro Plan available for a monthly fee. While we're unable to refund Shopify subscription charges, first time subscribers are eligible for a 30-day trial of the Pro Plan. As long as the subscription is cancelled inside that 30-day trial you will not be charged for the initial subscription fee.
Please feel free to reach out to us directly here: https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/requests/new for any additional questions about the Theme Updater app, the Pro Plan or any other theme questions in general.
Avoid these guys. Paid £300 for the turbo theme and it’s broken. The dymanic shopping buttons can’t be relied upon and only work 20% of the time and now I’m getting loads of errors from google because the product schema is not correct. An issue that seems to be badly affecting all their customers yet they haven’t even updated the theme to resolve this.
Hi babita UK!
Sorry to hear that you're experiencing some issues with your theme! If you have any questions or problems using your theme, our Support team is more than happy to help out! You can get in touch with us here: https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/requests/new and one of our support agents will be able to lend a hand!
We try our best to respond to all tickets within 24 hours (Monday - Friday).
The 'Dynamic Checkout Buttons' are actually controlled by Shopify's platform! If you're experiencing issues with these, we recommend getting in touch with a Shopify Guru. They can be reached 24/7 here: https://help.shopify.com/en/questions#/contact
difficult to work with. Resistance to helping their client. Days to get help but it is false help!
Thanks for the note, and I'm glad we could work with you back in January to resolve the issue! We're now able to reply to reviews, and I'm just following up to see if you have any outstanding questions that we didn't address from our Support correspondence. If so, feel free to send in a reply on our previous note, or submit a new one here: https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
All the best!
Tried the pro version of Theme Updater to bring Atlantic theme 11.6 tot 13.4.5. The result was horrifying: a mix of badly placed page elements and duplicate items in the customize section. There is no solution for painless updating: I had to do everything manually. I think this tool only works for minor updated themes.
Sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with the Theme Updater App. We’re now able to respond to App reviews so we wanted to take this chance to reach out!
The Theme Updater App is able to carry over simpler code customizations in most cases. If you or your developer have made extensive or complex customizations directly to the theme files, then these customizations will need to be manually transferred to the updated theme.
The ‘Pro Plan’ comes with the option to view a line-by-line breakdown of the code changes for customized files under the ‘View template customizations’ option when updating that we’ve added in to help merchants who have those advanced customizations! Were you able to take a look at this option when updating?
Please feel free to get in touch with us directly here: https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/requests/new - perhaps we can clear up any questions you may have about how the Updater App handles customizations!
We appreciate your feedback and would love to see if we can help out with the issues you experienced!
Cocofina - The Coconut Experts
Out of the sand box started with good intentions and it used to offer sterling customer service but all they are now too big for their boots, its very sad since we have used the theme for a while now, I would not buy anything from them again and would not recommend them either!
We’re now able to respond to App reviews so we wanted to take this chance you reach out to you! So sorry to hear that you’ve become unhappy with our customer service. Our Project Manager had reached out to you in December to help clear up the previous support interaction - hopefully, this helped clarify the outstanding issue.
If there are any other questions we can help out with, feel free to get in touch with us here: https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. We’d love to help out and do what we can to turn this experience around!
I have written for 3 Weeks ago then for 2 Weeks ago an email and no response. I have a massive issue with my turbo theme Template. My products show up very strange after I have clicked some item. The products do not side by side. There are below each other and descriptions disappear. Maybe my English is too bad to explain that. But that is an absolutely catastrophic from the customs service. And 350 Dollar is on the top of the template prices.
ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE service. This company updates their theme every two weeks but every time you update your theme, it messes up all your custom coding. They don't have a phone number to contact, only by email, which is fine - if they actually respond and help with your concerns.