Matrixify

Bulk Import Export Update Migrate

  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Free plan available

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Speed tested: no impact to your online store

Reviews

4.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    97% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 3 stars
    0
  • 2 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 2 stars
    0
  • 1 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 1 stars
1 review

Supernova Prints

Insanely slow. Takes me around 10 seconds per item, to extract the ID, Title and the value of a metafield. While exporting 300 items (~30 mins), it was faster for me to: a) Read Shopify's Admin API documentation; b) Create a private app in Shopify Admin; c) Write a loop to export the fields I needed in a NodeJS app, save it in a CSV file; and d) run my private app.
I'm pretty sure they slow it on purpose so you upgrade to the more pricey versions. It's sad because the UI is convenient.

Developer reply

April 18, 2022

Hello!
Wow, that’s a really painful one. Especially because of such an accusation which is not true. We definitely do not make anything slower on purpose.
Before jumping to any conclusions that we do such a thing, please, contact our Support and allow to pinpoint where the exact issue is, and give us a chance to make it right.
Matrixify app has a 300% API speed increase by default, so you should be able to get a faster export speed with even the Matrixify Demo plan, compared to your own Private app.

We work tirelessly to provide a top service and the app to Shopify Merchants, and without an exception. Please, contact our Support, and let's investigate together why there is a time difference. There must be a rational explanation to it, and we will be very grateful if you help us to identify that.

Thanks so much!

UPDATE: Looking into your exports, we I can see you are exporting "Variant Metafields" instead of Product level Metafields. It means that we are fetching Metafields for each variant, which is definitely much slower than taking Metafields of a Product, because we need to request those metafields for each Variant of a Product. The more Variants you have for each Product, the more requests are needed to read them via the API. When doing the speed comparison, please, make sure you compare the same kinds of Metafields.

UPDATE: We can see earlier exports that you did, exporting Product level Metafields - that was working with speed 0.2 - 0.4 seconds per Product. Now you are exporting Variant Metafields, which makes 8 seconds per product, because there are many variants for your Products, and it takes additional API call for each variant. So it sounds like there is a misunderstanding for which Metafields export speeds are being compared.

Please, reach us to resolve this - we are trying to reach you, too.

UPDATE: We have tried reaching the Merchant for 3 weeks now, almost daily - to solve this issue/misunderstanding for them. The Merchant is not responding on any of the channels, we tried all we could find. When you report an issue, please, be prepared to work with us to solve it. Not being reachable for solving a reported issue is unethical.

Maris
Founding Engineer