Shopify Inbox

Shopify Inbox

Price: Free
Rating (4.5)
Reviews
Developer
1562 reviews
1562 reviews
Overall rating
4.5
Counts per rating level
  • 65% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 17% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 1 stars
1562 reviews
Edited August 4, 2020

Shopify, please get rid of the "Leave a number and we'll text you back as soon as we're available (an email address works too)." It's constantly showing, even when the store owner is not 'away'. It signifies to the customer that we're unavailable when we are.

Also, consider putting an end chat feature on the store owners end, automatic options and also button controlled. So the customer knows the chat's ended when it has. On the customers screen it seems like continuous messaging, but on the shop owners screen, its a different visitor and a whole new chat.

Please look into these, your almost there.

AVAGADA
Nigeria
Time spent using app: About 19 hours
Shopify replied September 11, 2020

Hi AVAGADA,

Thank you so much for your feedback!

Since Shopify Chat is a live chat feature, and we know our merchants are often busy and cannot get to visitor conversations immediately at all times, we wanted to provide a way for visitors to leave some information so that you, the merchant, can continue the conversation at your convenience and potentially capture that sale. However, you make a great point that it could potentially signify to the visitor that you're not available and is definitely something I will bring forward to the team.

We're always looking for ways to build upon and improve our product, so this feedback is really appreciated.

I'm going to reach out to you personally over email to get some more of your thoughts on what you'd like to see moving forward.

Take care,
Ellis from Ping and Kit Support.

Edited August 1, 2020

How to get rid of that awful message Leave a number and we'll text you back as soon as we're available (an email address works too)." ahh

Underworld Laboratory
Czechia
Time spent using app: 3 months
Shopify replied September 11, 2020

Hi Underworld Laboratory,

Thank you for your feedback. At the moment there is no way to remove that banner in Shopify Chat.

Since Shopify Chat is a live chat feature, and we know our merchants are often busy and cannot get to visitor conversations immediately at all times, we wanted to provide a way for visitors to leave some information so that you the merchant can continue the conversation at your convenience and potentially capture that sale.

Your feedback however is really valuable to us. I'm going to reach out to you personally over email to get your thoughts on how we can improve this feature moving forward. :)

Take care,
Ellis from Ping and Kit Support.

July 30, 2020

Seemed like a good idea to download the app, runs smoothly on a desktop but cant send messages using an iPhone and cant minimise the chat to allow customers to continue shopping

House of Flora
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: 23 minutes
Shopify replied September 11, 2020

Hi House of Flora,

Thank you for your feedback! I'm going to reach out to you personally over email to see if we can troubleshoot the issue you were having with the chat not minimizing.

Shopify Chat, when viewed on a mobile device, should have an option to be minimized. However, on some occasions we've seen other apps move Shopify Chat's button up slightly, pushing the minimize option off screen.

Take care and talk soon,
Ellis from Ping and Kit Support

Edited July 24, 2020

Very poorly designed app. Missing alot of key features!! would suggest looking into another messaging app

RealtorShop.ca
Canada
Shopify replied September 11, 2020

Hi RealtorShop.ca

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience with Shopify Chat.

Our team is constantly adding new features and looking for ways to build on the app. I'm going to reach out to you personally over email to get your thoughts on what you'd like to see improved and I'll be sure to pass that along to our team. :)

Take care,
Ellis from Ping and Kit Support.

July 22, 2020

I like how ell thais app is integrated with the Shopify system.
What I don't like is that the opening message for the customer is not customisable. The users don't have to put in any details of themselves which makes it difficult for the store staff to strike a personalised conversation.
All customers have a name like shopper 123, which doesn't help.

Capsul
India
Time spent using app: 2 months
Shopify replied September 11, 2020

Hi Capsul!

Thank you for your feedback.

We have recently added a feature to Shopify Chat that asks visitors to enter an email address or phone number in order for you, the merchant, to follow up with them should they need to go.

Currently Shopify Chat can only recognize North American phone numbers, but if a visitor leaves an email address Shopify Chat will search through your 'Customers' section of Shopify to see if it matches an existing customer. If it does, Shopify Chat will update the conversation to show the buyer's name or email address. If it doesn't match an existing customer, Shopify Chat will create a new customer record for that visitor.

You can also edit the automated away and available messages in Ping to ask visitors to leave information. I will reach out to you personally over email to go over how you can do that. :)

Take Care,
Ellis from Ping and Kit Support.

July 8, 2020

In general the app is not bad. Just the iPhone app to answer the support request forces you to install kit. If you don't want to use it you can not even skip it and it has loads of bugs so sometimes you're just not able to answer the chat messages because the iPhone app has problems (iPhone 11 Pro). I just deleted it.

Necklesse
Monaco
Time spent using app: 9 months
Shopify replied September 11, 2020

Hi Necklesse,

Thank you for your feedback!

Kit is a free tool that is built into Shopify Ping to act as a virtual employee. Since Kit offers a range of free marketing tools such as email marketing, thank you emails, creating posts to Facebook, as well as the ability to create paid marketing campaigns on Instagram and Facebook, we wanted to get it in as many merchants hands as possible.

However, there are ways to use Ping without using Kit. I'm going to reach out to you personally over email to continue this conversation.

Take care,
Ellis from Ping and Kit Support

July 6, 2020

This app really is badly made. Lots of 'American' phrases in the text that can't be edited (you should at least be able to edit the button text! but you can't). Very poor for a Shopify official app.

Nice Things by Helena
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: About 4 hours
Shopify replied September 11, 2020

Hi Nice Things by Helena,

I'm sorry to hear you're not having a good experience with Shopify Chat currently.

Shopify Chat's button text will automatically translate to whatever language your Shopify theme is set to.

I'm going to reach out to you via email personally to go over the steps on how to translate your theme should you so wish.

Take care,
Ellis from Ping and Kit Support.

Edited June 23, 2020

THE ONLY REASON WHY I DON'T USE IT IS BECAUSE I CAN'T HEAR THE NOTIFICATION SOUND ON MY iPHONE - IT'S NOT LOUD ENOUGH!!!!!!! i

Download Business Course
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: Over 2 years
Shopify replied September 11, 2020

Hi Download Business Course!

I'm sorry to hear you're having issues with the notification volume. New messages from a buyer through Shopify Chat should create a notification on your iOS device that is accompanied by a sound.

I will reach out to you personally over email to troubleshoot this issue and get everything sorted out.

Take care,
Ellis from Ping & Kit Support

Edited June 19, 2020

Feature Requests: Please give us an option to do the following with Shopify Chat app:

* Custom button size text box or slider; the button is too big on mobile and covers elements of a web page on smaller 4-4.7" screens. I'd live a 35-45px icon size instead
*Choose what corner of the screen the chat button appears, and what its shape can be optionally (rounded corner tab in the corner or side of page, circle button, square shape)
* Choose a custom PNG or SVG image in place of the default icon/text options for chat button that you have designed
* Give an option to also direct message/IM using third-party URLs/profiles (Telegram. WhatsApp, etc.) within the chat window element ("Also chat via: Telegram, WhatsApp" links within the window)

V. H. Hess
United States
Time spent using app: About 1 year
June 16, 2020

For now 3 stars, because the app works (also with Android). We need options to customize the icon (for instance: size and exact position on the screen). It could be a great app in the near future. Thanks for the effort. :)

Drone Class
Netherlands
Time spent using app: 18 minutes
Shopify replied September 11, 2020

Hi Drone Class.

Thank you for that feedback! We're always looking for ways to improve our product, so this is definitely something we'll be sure to pass along to the team. :)

If you ever have anymore feedback, or questions, please feel free to reach out to us at ping@shopfiy.com.