SC Product Options , 2,538 reviews

Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 87% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its extensive customization capabilities, particularly useful for stores with a wide range of products and variants. Key features such as unlimited options, conditional logic, and the Dynamic List are highlighted. The app is noted for its user-friendly interface and smooth integration with Shopify. The customer support team is praised for their quick and effective responses. Despite occasional issues and suggestions for improved intuitiveness, merchants are generally satisfied with the app's performance and the support received.

January 15, 2019

Great app. Very intuitive and works as anticipated. Had a question about the order of options on product page and Julian was quick to explain. Good customer service. I’ll be keeping this app.

BIOS APOTHECARY
United States
1 day using the app
December 4, 2013

Super power app, does everything I need it to.

Not A Store
Canada
1 day using the app
September 25, 2022

The app is good, can provide almost all programs you need. But the customer service is too too bad, they reply too late. Sometime you email them several times, they will never reply to you more than one week. This is really disappointed. I have to list my experience here, we paid nearly $50 dollars for this app, but the service is too bad, your app not worth this price!! If I find other better app instead, will not use yours right now!! Bad customer service, remember, the live chat is never available!! You can't find them anyway.

Aperturee
China
27 days using the app
Shop Circle replied October 7, 2022

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review of our app. I'm deeply sorry to hear you had a less than perfect customer service experience. Live chat is available 6 days a week, during business hours. I can confirm our specialists have reached out and have been helping with a solution for your theme. I hope that we're able to come to a resolution that works for you.

April 19, 2021

The worst customer support we have ever experienced. Last Friday we sent two technical support requests, one is to apply for the installation code from the APP, and the other is to leave a message in the help center to ask for help to set the "add to price" function. On Monday, we received your email, one email replying to the code installation request, let us accept the request of collaborator account, we accepted it immediately. The second is to reply the email about the "add to price" request, and let us check your youtube channel and find solution in help center. I have read all of these. If it can be resolved by ourselves, why should we ask for your help? So, when I replied to your email, I asked again to help us set up the "add to price" function, but so far there is no reply! On Wednesday, I received your email saying that the code was installed, but never mentioned the "add to price" setting request , why??? On Thursday, we tested the installed code and found that there was a problem, so we recorded a video to inform you that there was a problem with the code, and then there is no reply until now. Why is your online chat function never online? If you can't provide online support, why put it on the website??? Our website was ready to go live one week ago, just wait for you to help us set it up, it has been a week. Now it's Tuesday again, no response from Bold customer support team, it has been 10 days (7 business days). We really don't have time to wait any longer.

Unik Portrait
China
27 days using the app
Shop Circle replied April 20, 2021

I'm so terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectation - our goal is to help your business grow and to help you succeed. We really appreciate your feedback and hope that you can give us another chance to meet your expectation.

July 19, 2018

Great app! I would give it 5 stars except a little bit frustrating to set up. On one of my first chats, I was told what I wanted to do wasn’t possible. Thankfully, I had an email from them stating otherwise so I got the help I needed from that source. It took several emails to resolve but that was most likely because I’m slightly “technically challenged”. All’s well that end well. 3 cheers for Nick and the BOLD support team!

Arizona Scrollworks
United States
25 days using the app
May 13, 2019

a big thank you to Rony, for helping me very promptly, super easy to deal with and got the issue resolved :)

Petitefeetnz
New Zealand
1 day using the app
Shop Circle replied May 22, 2019

Hello! We're pleased to hear that Rony was able to help out with the issue you were seeing. Please let us know if we can help out with anything else in the future!

June 21, 2016

Nothing but problems. Without a developer you'll be out of luck.

Slik Hound
United States
26 days using the app
February 20, 2020

The staff with Bold Product Options is very efficient and responsive! So helpful with all questions and concerns. So happy I decided to work with this App.

Roots 657
United States
1 day using the app
Edited May 6, 2019

Extremely poor customer service! Emailed them several times in the past 2 weeks!!! I have been really patient to hear back from Bold, probably more than I should have. Time is very critical in business and we cannot wait for weeks to solve the issue happened in the checkout.

snackbears
Australia
25 days using the app
Shop Circle replied May 7, 2019

Hi there, I'm very sorry to hear that there are issues going on with the installation of our app to your store! We'd love to book a time to give you a call so we can discuss this further; please let us know when you are available! In the meantime, you can let us know which theme you'd like the code installed on so our experts can have the code installed properly!

March 21, 2017

My bold apps are top notch.Support has been great throughout the development of my stores site. Thank you Tamer for always following up and checking on our progress.

Neon Litter
United States
1 day using the app