Searchanise Search and Filter

Searchanise Search and Filter

From $19/month. 7-day free trial.
Rating (4.6)
Reviews
Developer
Searchanise
1392 reviews
15 reviews
Overall rating
4.6
Counts per rating level
  • 92% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 1 stars
15 reviews
October 19, 2022

I've been using the product for years. Recently they "upgraded" their plans and unless you change to a new plan they'll delete your account. I hate when companies force you into upgrades that you don't need. I mean it's only $77 a year increase but it's a dirty practice that all the app developers seem to be doing now. I'll stay with it for now but might look for other options.

Strobepro Studio Lighting
Canada
Time spent using app: Over 5 years
Searchanise replied October 25, 2022

Thank you for sharing your experience with our app. We are sorry to see it was such an unpleasant one!

At the same time, your point is certainly understandable. We wish we could arrange the changing of pricing model in a different way. However, we faced a situation when we had to choose a path that let us fully improve our product.

We do hope you consider staying with us as losing our long-term clients is especially sad to experience. Therefore, we contacted you via email with a special offer. It would be great to know if this offer sounds engaging.

Best wishes,
Searchanise team

Edited September 1, 2022

Previously, I would have given this app 3.5 to 4 stars. However, after putting in months of work installing and configuring it, Searchanise increased the price of our plan by 400%. That's right: 400%. The exorbitant and abrupt price change feels like a bait and switch. Searchanise only gave a week's notice of the price change. Changing search apps (or changing a theme to avoid the need for a search app) is not something that can be accomplished in a week or so. Accordingly, we felt like Searchanise was extorting us with the abrupt price change. They were essentially saying: "Pay 400% more or we'll break your webstore". Moreover, the app has significant problems with its search algorithm, which is the key feature we required from it. The Searchanise algorithm has difficulty identifying variations on the same word. For example, we sell pom poms as a craft item. But the app is not able to recognize variations on that term. If a customer searches for pompom, pom pom, pom-pom, pompoms or pom-poms, the app will not return search results that include items containing the term "pom poms". The app includes a synonym function that purports to allow you to manually define related terms to correct deficiencies in the algorithm. Manual programming should not be required for a search algorithm to treat such similar terms as synonyms. Moreover, the synonym function in the app does not work properly. We have tried at length to use the synonyms function to resolve problems with the app's search algorithm, but the synonym function produces undesirable, inconsistent and unpredictable results. It changes the order and contents of search results in really unpredictable ways. We have read all the literature that Searchanise has provided on the synonym function, so we are aware of all the guidance on its use. Despite this, we have largely had to discontinue using it because it produces such inconsistent and unpredictable results. We have had to resort to using tags and revising our product descriptions to try to capture common variations on search terms to make up for shortcomings in the app's algorithm. That is very time consuming and should not be required. The fact that the app has difficulty recognizing the singular and plural form of words as synonyms is particularly problematic (eg. pompom and pompoms). So, before considering using this app, beware of its functionality shortcomings and the risk of exorbitant price increases instituted on short notice after you have spent days, months or years trying to configure the app.

Midoco Art & Office Supplies
Canada
Time spent using app: About 2 years
Searchanise replied August 29, 2022

Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are truly sorry to see you disappointed in our app!

The last thing we wanted is to make an impression of our clients being forced to sign up at the new rate. It truly wasn't our goal at all and we are sorry if we made it look this way.

As you also contacted us via email, we already addressed your points in detail there. Still, we would like to let you know that we made sure our clients received several letters about the price change. If you indeed got only one notification a week before, please let us know via email. We will investigate it.

Regarding the search issues you faced, we'd like to note that we apologize for this whole manual process being necessary. We understand that it can be very frustrating so our development team got your feedback on this matter. If you still experience those issues and they are not fixed manually, please provide us with details via email. We will be glad to help and do all we can to make this process easier for you.

We hope that the offer we made via email will make you consider staying with us because we would really not want to lose you as a client. Yet, we will respect your decision whatever it may be. Let's stay in touch!

Best wishes,
Searchanise team

Edited August 10, 2022

Thought this app had great functionality. We have been using it for months and their support is always responsive. Unfortunately, they did a plan change and we did not realize so we did not select a new plan before the deadline. It is not like we canceled and forgot to turn the app off, they just changed their plans and left us hanging. Instead of reverting back to our normal collection page, this app just acted like our free trial was up and hid all of our products. Even if it was a trial, this app should revert back as if the app was not installed, and not just display nothing on the website!!! We lost out in $1,000s of dollars in revenue while our website was down. This can not be an acceptable way for this app to work. Updated - App developer contacted me and explained why it stopped working. Until they figure out a way to just "disable" the app when a trial ends instead of rendering collection pages useless, I would be very careful.

Golftini
United States
Time spent using app: 5 months
Searchanise replied August 10, 2022

Hello,

We are very sorry to see you faced this problem! We totally understand how huge it is.

As you contacted us via email as well, we made sure to explain this whole situation to you in detail there. In short, it was all caused by the fact that Filters on collections are set up via HTML files of your theme.

Still, the problem itself was crucial and we understand your frustration. We will consult with our team to find a way to prevent such cases further. Even though it was a negative experience for you, we'd like to thank you for letting us know about it so we can improve our functionality.

If you still have any questions about it or anything else, feel free to contact us via email.

Best wishes,
Searchanise team

June 11, 2021

I like the app, but we had a significant drop in speed on our shop, from 28 to 19, due to this app. I wrote to you about this to find out if there are any solutions, but I still haven't had an answer. If there is no improvement, I will have to delete the app.

Les Mauvaises Herbes
Canada
Time spent using app: 10 months
Searchanise replied June 17, 2022

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are sorry to see you had issues with using our app in your store. We totally understand how speed is important in terms of user experience.

As far as we see, we addressed it via email. In case you still need any assistance on this matter, feel free to let us know.

Best regards,
Searchanise team

January 2, 2021

As a pro member, I don't expect this app to keep breaking and messing with our sales. This app is so inconsistent and would break at the most crucial times.

AMEKANA.COM
United States
Time spent using app: Over 3 years
Searchanise replied June 17, 2022

Hello,

We appreciate your willingness to leave a feedback for us. We are also very sorry you had an unpleasant experience with our app!

As far as we see, we looked into this case with our developers and did our best to help you. If any problems appear again, you can always let us know and we will shortly get to the investigation.

All the best,
Searchanise team