Reviews (3,287)

Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 90% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate the app for its intuitive drag-and-drop interface that simplifies the creation of responsive web pages without needing extensive coding skills. The app is noted for its excellent customer support, including personalized video tutorials and real-time chat, enhancing the user experience. It also offers educational resources, interactive webinars, and a supportive community, making it easier for merchants to learn and solve issues. The seamless integration with Shopify and its cost-effectiveness make it especially appealing to small businesses managing websites in-house.

May 10, 2024

I have been using Shogun for years and it's a great platform to create great pages - even if you don't have a lot of website design experience. Their customer service is very quick and helpful. Nothing but good things to say about their platform...

Humps Optics
United States
Over 4 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied July 19, 2024

Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time and leaving us a review.

We greatly appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear about your positive experience.

We'll look forward to assisting you again in the future.

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun

July 9, 2024

The landing page building works good. My issue is with the support and lack of transparency in fixing glitches and issues with the landing pages.

I reported a glitch in Jan 2024 (the team at shogun confirmed) which was affecting the conversion rate of my landing pages (variant buttons hover / focus / active style).

The support team kept saying "it is on the roadmap to fix" but now in July 2024, they just ignore my requests for updates.

It's disappointing that a good product is being shaded by a lack of transparency and communication.

Bluebird Provisions
Canada
Over 3 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied July 19, 2024

Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review and sharing your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with our team. We always strive to offer our best services and I am happy to check on this feedback further, internally.

We apologize for the trouble.

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun

July 17, 2024

Used this on Bigcommerce for years then moved to shopify. Better and less expensive alternatives like Gempages out there. Also, this will install a ton of code in your theme that you will have to remove manually if you uninstall it. Shogun did not respond to our numerous emails for help to remove this code. We eventually got rid of it all but beware if you decide not to keep using this.

HoopsKing
United States
3 months using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied July 19, 2024

Hey there, thanks for leaving us a review.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with Shogun wasn't a positive one. I do want to mention that Shogun is a solution provider with solutions such as A/B testing, Targeted Experiences, SEO, and AI. We aren't just a page builder. However, we are happy to hear you have found an alternative.

Also, every app adds code to the theme, that's how apps work. Our app installs minimal code to ensure your pages work, even when you uninstall the app. Our team responds to each and every email we receive, however, if you didn't receive a reply, could you share more details with our team at support@getshogun.com?

Our team will also be happy to provide you with resources on how to easily remove the Shogun code from the theme.

Thanks for trying Shogun.

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun

April 11, 2024

Great builder, I had some issues, but ultimately Leah from their success team help solved them.

Coldest
United States
About 1 year using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied May 10, 2024

Hi there, Thank you so much for leaving us a review.

We are super glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience and that Leah was able to help resolve the issues.

Please let us know if there is anything else we can help with.

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun

March 19, 2024

Once you use Shogun you're locked in. They have repeatedly changed features and changed their pricing which results in broken pages, missing features that we once had, and difficulties site wide. Customer support is slow to respond. You guys suck.

EVELO
United States
Almost 4 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied March 21, 2024

Hi there!

Thanks for leaving your feedback with us. While we change our plans' pricing and add new features, necessitating shuffling features to different plans, we never take features off of users, nor do we force you onto new plans.

Once the app is persistently installed, you've always got to keep the feature set you are familiar with. Pages, therefore, will not spontaneously break. As I understand, the features that were missing were found to be still available, only slightly moved in the UI with the editor design refresh.

Customer support is available 24/7 through email, where we aim to respond to every email within 24 hours, and live chat, where we can be reached most hours within a couple of minutes.

I know we were chatting recently about this, and if you have any specific queries not addressed in our more recent interaction, please reply to that same thread or reach out to our team, and we'd be more than happy to assist you.

James | Client Services
Shogun

May 17, 2024

The customer support is good, the the app itself is pretty bad. Very hard to build landing pages, poor navigation, brutal formatting for mobile.

overall not great

Phytoplankton Supply Company
Canada
12 days using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied May 22, 2024

Hi there, Pierce. Thanks for leaving us a review and sharing your feedback.

I was going through the conversations you had with our team and I apologize if you felt Shogun wasn't a good fit for your requirements. Would you be able to help us more when you refer to the app being hard to build landing pages with issues for mobile formatting? Our team will be happy to analyze the use case and ensure we can work on your suggestions.

I see you were looking to create a form and connect the same with a third-party form app/service. For such instances, it is best to embed the form directly from the form service as suggested by the team. The embed form is not something you can control using Shogun, but our HTML element will populate what is pasted there.

However, let us know if you decide to try Shogun again. We'll be happy to assist and answer your questions.

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun

February 20, 2024

James from Support was quick to remedy a situation where one of my pages had an error on a live page. Great customer service

J&K Cabinetry
United States
Over 5 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied February 23, 2024

Hi there, Chris. Thank you for taking the time and leaving us a review.

I am happy to hear that James was able to help resolve an issue quickly. I will be sure to share the feedback with him and our entire support team.

We are here to assist you should you bump into any issues or have any further questions. Thanks for your support. :)

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun

March 21, 2024

Unexpected HUGE charge

Trying this app is not advised… I was shocked to see that I was automatically charged almost $400 (with taxes) after trying this for a day. My $1 / month trial Shopify account just set me up to get taken advantage of. If I automatically was charged $39 like it shows is the price then I would understand but this is 10x that.
I only used for a few hours and didn’t find Shogun to be intuitive unfortunately.

My Store
Canada
About 1 month using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied March 28, 2024

---Update - April 5, 2024---

Hi there, Jay, I appreciate you writing back, however, it looks like we have not heard back from you again. Could you check the email and reply back with the store details so that we can assist you further?

Thanks.
---------------------------------------

Hi there, Thanks for sharing your feedback here.

I am not able to locate your account or a support conversation about the same as the store name- My Store seems to be very generic.

However, I would like to let you know that app charges or subscription charges work based on billing cycles in Shopify. We offer 10 days of free trial and if the app is not required we recommend uninstalling the app before the trial period is over. If the app is not uninstalled, the recurring subscription starts automatically, that is how subscriptions work.

I see you suggested you tried the app for a day, but if the app was not uninstalled before the free cutoff period, you will be charged which is expected behavior. And, you will be charged based on the plan you selected while you uninstalled and started the trial.

If you reached out to our support team about this previously, could you reply back to us on that thread?

Having said that, as I am not able to locate your store details I wanted to check if you can reach out to our support team at support@getshogun.com?

Our support team will be happy to analyze the account and share further information to clear any doubts or misunderstandings here. And, we'll be happy to help with the charge.

We'll look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Thanks for your understanding.

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun

February 22, 2024

For someone like me, who knows what they want but knows almost no programming- it really is the BEST!

Little Giant Ladder Systems
United States
Almost 4 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied February 28, 2024

Thanks for leaving us a review and sharing the feedback, James.

We designed Shogun to be easy-to-use without having to code and we are super glad to hear that you are having a great experience with Shogun.

We'll be here to assist you if you bump into any issues or have any further questions.

Thank you so much for your support. 😊

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun

February 16, 2024

Great tool for a company that does not have developers. Especially great support when something goes wrong. Their rep Alex Harper saved a couple projects that were coming down to the wire and helped me make a deadline.

DERMA E
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied February 23, 2024

Hi there, Mike. Thanks for leaving us this review.

We are super glad to hear that Shogun has been helpful for your requirements. We designed the app to ensure you can get started and create awesome pages and designs without coding knowledge, but can also utilize custom code.

I will be happy to share the kind words with Alex and we'll look forward to assisting you again. Thanks for your support. 😊

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun