This app does not do what it says. I cannot add my logo to the pins. Customization is extremely limited. It makes me enter my API key every time I enter the app. No good.
I installed this app and it does not allow you to design it. It also was not locating any stores near the zip code that I was searching for near over 25 locations I added.
This app has a big security issue, to works it need a google maps API key with no Application restrictions.
The API key appears in the code of the website, if someone take your API and abuse of them you will pay to google.
I hope BOLD fix this quickly
Hello there. Thank you for the review and the feedback; we appreciate all reviews as it helps us evaluate how we're doing. We're so sorry that you found our app to have a large security issue in terms of the Google Maps API key.
Our specialist, Sam, will be reaching out to you soon to give you more information to assist you if needed, however he did mention that in your Google account, you can set it to only your myshopify.com domain URL using this key, so that if anyone were to find it, it would be a restricted API key and will not do anything should they try to use it.
We hope that helps!
First poor experience with a Bold app, but unfortunately their Store Locator is barely usable at the moment until their engineers fix an issue with the newly updated stores showing up as a Non-geolocating store instead of showing the location. So Merchant (you and I) has to manually go in and set each location (their support team's own words). Which I can't realistically do for over 500 stores. According to them, they are working on this bug and will update as soon as they can. For the time being I uninstalled and went with another app.
Not happy with the app. The first time we tried to update our Dealer list, I re-imported our list of dealers and they didn't sync up with their geo-locator which caused them all to not display on the map when an address was searched. I had to manually enter in over 100 addresses to get it working again. About a month later I tried doing another update and the same thing happened. I was told their developers were working on the issue and waited over a week for our addresses to show-up on our dealer locator again . After a week and still no results we decided to switch apps. We couldn't wait any longer and it almost caused us to lose multiple dealers.
Hello there. We're so sorry you have been experiencing this issue - our developers have been working to craft a solution for this as some of our other merchants were also experiencing the same issue, however we don't have any sort of timeframe on when it can be expected which is certainly frustrating for not only you guys, but also us, as we want our apps to work exactly how they should for all of our merchants.
We completely understand that you need to do what's best for your business and switch to a different app. We're so sorry we couldn't get the issue resolved for you in a timely manner, which is what we always strive for. We hope to be able to update you in the near future with the fix, and would be happy to compensate you for the loss of proper functionality.
Please let us know if there's anything more we can do for you in the meantime - our specialist Rony has reached out to you, and would be more than happy to discuss everything in detail over the phone.
All the best with your business, and take care.
The app constantly fails to work via my store. I cannot update it as it continuously has issues. The support is good but at the end of the day, the app appears to have some issues. Very unhappy with it
I installed this app one week ago. After installation I wanted to trial the app so I didn't make it live yet. However, my customers could not complete any purchases after I installed this app. Every time a customer went to click "checkout" it would go to a blank page that said "Bad request". So I uninstalled the application, which caused even more issues. Bold has embedded their code everywhere in the back end of my shopify theme code, which has caused my site to malfunction and caused my business a large amount of loss of sales. I immediately contacted Shopify, my theme code developer and Bold to assist. Bold did not assist to fix the code problem, I have not received a single call back from Bold, I have not received any updates from Bold. I have tried to email them to get an update and ask them to fix it but I'm stuck with a website that has their code written on the front end of the customer view site. I am not a coder, I have no coding experience which is why I pay for shopify, pay for the theme and pay for a Bold subscription to use their support and I'm currently feeling pretty helpless as Bold is not fixing the problem. I installed Bold because of the reviews it has. However, my theme developer has told me Bold is notorious for doing this, I wish I had never installed Bold. It disturbs me that I only installed Bold for a trial and it has caused me and is still currently causing me loss of sales due to customers not being able to complete their purchases and due to Bold's code appearing on my websites shop front causing customers to click away as the site looks terrible as things are not running as they are meant. I am really disappointed and frustrated. I don't know what more to do. This is my livelihood and for an application that I haven't even made live to have that ability over my site is disturbing, especially that Bold has not taken the right measures in a timely manner to even fix their mistakes on my site.
Shopify and my theme code developer have been responsive and helpful, but Bold have not at all looked at this as priority to help me fix. I'm really not happy with Bold's products and I do not recommend them. I have requested compensation from Bold for my loss of sales which I have not received any response to.
The app just did not work. It was pretty. But didn't work. When a customer would visit the page, the map wouldn't load. If they hit refresh it was fine, but none of our customers knew to do that. I tried getting support from Bold, but it was quite possibly the worst experience I've had with a support team. Every day I'd get one email from them, asking to clarify what browser I was using when encountering the error. So I'd answer that the error was on all browsers. The next day Alexa would write back and ask me which version of the browser. So I told her it was every browser we could find, and the newest versions of each. The next day it was another email from her asking what operating system I was using. It was terrible, almost as if she was dragging it out so that we'd use the entirety of the trial period and we'd be charged. I've since found a free store locator app that, although it doesn't look quite as pretty, actually works. Did I mention it was free???
Not sure where all the good reviews come from?
Some major flaws:
1 - doesn't work when searching on postcode in Australia, works on suburb name only
2- no "reset" or "clear" results button. So you can never go back to seeing the entire map/list again??
3 - no way to sort how items are displayed in the list? Seems to be a random order. Can't find any info in help on this either.
4 - mobile view issue - when viewing on a mobile and a user taps on a location on the map to see the details of the store, the "Map" and "Satellite" buttons overlap the name of the store and half of the address too, making it kind of useless.
5 - support was pretty bad, and after a few requests that were met with out of the textbook, completely unhelpful suggestions, they stopped answering.
Burgon And Ball
I have been testing this app today. We have in excess of 500 stores to locate. We uploaded them as a bulk upload and upon testing have found out that...
1. A lot of stores have not been marked in the correct location on the map - some are 50km out! Not even near.
2. Some haven't even been added to the map and there is nothing to warn you of this (you have to manually go through and check each one).
3. When you search for a postcode it searches the pins on the map rather than the postcode you have entered in the back end. Therefore if the pin has been located in the incorrect place it won't show up in the results.
4. When I do go in to edit the map location it deletes the address information so I will now have to go through and add this back in as I didn't realise this was happening when I was working on it today.
This app might be suitable if you have less than 50 stores but for more than this it is a pain to set up. The changes I have listed above will take in excess of 40 hours to correct. I have contacted support and they have confirmed this is the case.