Facebook & Instagram , 4,541 reviews

Overall rating
3.8
Counts per rating level
  • 63% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 1 stars
January 9, 2024

Instagram is very engaging. It is easier to use than FB business page. I find FB business page a little more difficult to use as a selling platform. It is good for information about my business to direct them to my actual website but so far I am not sure I can use it to sell from. I primarily use FB Marketplace until I figure it all out.

creative designs by eliana
United States
Almost 3 years using the app
Meta replied January 12, 2024

Hi There!

Thank you for taking time to leave a review and sharing your experience with us. We appreciate hearing from our customers!

Thank you,
Meta Support

December 29, 2023

The app is fine however I got several sales during the holidays and since my items are personalized and have custom options I had to track these people down. This however was not as easy as emailing them or reaching out to them through the fB shop. They never either got the messages or they were never sent. I have no idea how you FB can force something on shops that just doesn't work.

Pintody
United States
Over 4 years using the app
Meta replied January 5, 2024

Hi There,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review with detailed feedback!

Please contact our Business Support team via this link if we can be of further assistance to you:

https://help.shopify.com/en/support/topic-select/sales-channels/sell-on-facebook-or-instagram

We'll be sure to follow up with you directly and ensure you have the best possible experience.

Thank you,
Meta Support

January 16, 2024

Excited to get started selling on these platforms! META was very helpful getting me set up!

Blush Boutique And Tanning
United States
About 1 year using the app
Meta replied January 26, 2024

Hi there!

Thank you for taking time to leave a review and sharing your experience with us. We appreciate hearing from our customers!

Thank you,
Meta Support

January 30, 2024

It is working fine and fast. But there is no option for sending informations like "Own number 0" or "Own label 1" and this is a very important function i need to categorize my products in the Meta Ads Manager..

Pelletgrill.ch
Switzerland
Over 3 years using the app
Meta replied February 2, 2024

Hi There!

Thank you for taking time to leave a review and sharing your experience with us. We appreciate hearing from our customers!

Please contact our Business Support team via this link if you need further assistance:

https://help.shopify.com/en/support/topic-select/sales-channels/sell-on-facebook-or-instagram

Thank you,
Meta Support

February 1, 2024

This app has always been flakey. I've found it disconnected from time to time. Also, I can't activate PayPal because the button doesn't work. Finally, I was surprised to find that all my products had a 10% discount automatically applied.

Think Tank Photo
United States
Over 5 years using the app
Meta replied February 9, 2024

Hi There!

Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and would like to assist you with a resolution.

Please contact our Business Support team via this link: https://help.shopify.com/en/support/topic-select/sales-channels/sell-on-facebook-or-instagram so we can follow up with you directly and ensure you have the best possible experience.

Thank you,
Meta Support

December 22, 2023

A couple of big issues we have are:

1: These sales automatically go through to our admin but if we need to update them, offer partial refunds or make any change even with an exchange we cannot. The entirety of the screens blocked out for us. This screws up reporting and just about every other aspect of the function.

2 - You all do not recognize back ordered products. So folks are ordering and not being told items are on back order. This is terrible for customer service and our overall brand.

3 - Bright side is that you all do a great Job selling, it just needs to be polished and easier for the back end admin.

Maroon Bell Outdoor®
United States
Over 3 years using the app
Meta replied December 29, 2023

Hi There,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review with detailed feedback!

Please contact our Business Support team via this link if we can be of further assistance to you:

https://help.shopify.com/en/support/topic-select/sales-channels/sell-on-facebook-or-instagram

We'll be sure to follow up with you directly and ensure you have the best possible experience.

Thank you,
Meta Support

January 31, 2024

I would always recommend FB & instagram before any. Everything about this app and platform are so user friendly and is worth having . never had an issue that was over looked or fixed .

Healthy living
United States
About 2 months using the app
Meta replied February 2, 2024

Hi There!

Thank you for taking time to leave a review and sharing your experience with us. We appreciate hearing from our customers!

Thank you,
Meta Support

November 17, 2023

I'm happy to give this app a well deserved 5 star review. After a disappointing experience with a my agency, I returned to this app and was surprised of all the new features. Its AI especially was a nice surprise and my ads outperformed the agency's ones.

The support from Nadav was awesome and added to my positive experience.
His responsiveness and expertise added tremendous value to my use of the app, making the transition very easy.

BARBERUS
Israel
Over 3 years using the app
Meta replied November 20, 2023

Hi There!

Thank you for taking time to leave a review and sharing your experience with us. We appreciate hearing from our customers!

Thank you,
Meta Support

Edited January 12, 2024

Hi

The link you shared is not a support page

—-------

The support team in Philippine is a nightmare to work with

All reply is just copy paste at one occasion they asked for something we just shared

We wasted so much time back and forth with them but got absolutely nowhere

We asked them for a quick video call to fix some issues they asked for information which we provided

they then asked for our contact number for the call which we we provide they then close the ticket!!

Several time they just closed the ticket replying to you but with no solution

A complete waste of time

Vshine Silk and Shine
United Kingdom
Almost 3 years using the app
Meta replied January 12, 2024

Hi There,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review with detailed feedback and apologize for your experience so far with us!

Please contact our Business Support team via this link if we can be of further assistance to you:

https://help.shopify.com/en/support/topic-select/sales-channels/sell-on-facebook-or-instagram

We'll be sure to follow up with you directly and ensure you have the best possible experience.

Thank you,
Meta Support

January 17, 2024

No customer support from Meta to resolve the issue, its just ridiculous how such a big company can not have a straight forward option to connect to customer support

RINGMASTER SPORTS - Made For Champions
United Kingdom
About 3 years using the app
Meta replied January 26, 2024

Hi There!

Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and would like to assist you with a resolution.

Please contact our Business Support team via this link: https://help.shopify.com/en/support/topic-select/sales-channels/sell-on-facebook-or-instagram so we can follow up with you directly and ensure you have the best possible experience.

Thank you,
Meta Support