Printful: Print on Demand

Printful: Print on Demand

by Printful

Top-rated print on demand dropshipping & warehousing service

4.2 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    82% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

61 - 70 of 3240 reviews

Born Again Textiles

It's great integration, and good service too. I just blabla blabla bla bla . It's blessed! Be joyful and praise the Lord too! :) Hallelujah. Why does it still keep popping up?

SCARS Company Store

WARNING: NEVER INSTALL PRINTFUL IF YOU HAVE PRINTIFY INSTALLED.
Installing Printful with Printify destroys the shipping profiles. If you uninstall both, Printful will recreate the shipping profiles, but you lose your whole catalog of designed products on Printful and according to the company, the only option is to recreate them.
Never uninstall Printful or you will lose your designed products. While their support was attentive, they have no way to respore your stores products on their platform - they apparently do not make any backups. Poor design.

Developer reply

December 11, 2020

Thank you for reaching out! Printful can co-exist with other POD platforms, however, it is true that if you uninstall the app, it would remove the sync and you would have to re-create the items from scratch. We would advise saving your products as Product Templates first, in case you need to adjust your settings/plugin. You can also add this feature request here: https://www.printful.com/feature-request.

Let us know if you have any further questions or anything else at feedback@printful.com!

-Lauma

Morbidogram

Printful è un app che mi ha aiutato a iniziare il mio business, non ho mai avuto grandi problemi, quando ci sono stati per ritardi non causati da loro il call center è stato veloce. Consiglio Vivamente

Reptilian Shop

*Precios caros (poco margen de beneficio si quieres ser competitivo). **Gastos de envío extremadamente caros! (Con la cantidad de envíos que deben tener, tendrían que negociar mejores tarifas y repercutirlas en el cliente, o es que ganan dinero con los envíos?)
***Retrasos en los envíos. Aunque prometen 3-6 días hay pedidos que tardan hasta 5 veces mas!
****Rastreo a medias... La calidad de los productos creo que es buena y la impresión tambien pero tienen muchos defectos que hacen que incorporarlos a tu tienda no sea una labor sencilla. Simplemente estoy buscando alternativas.

Developer reply

December 11, 2020

Hola!

Gracias por compartir su reseña! Lamento escuchar que ha encontrado estos problemas con nuestros servicios.

Por lo que respecta a nuestros precios, definitivamente entendemos que el precio juega un papel importante cuando tiene su propio negocio. Tenga en cuenta que nuestros precios no sólo incluyen el precio base del producto o la impresión, sino que también cubren por el resto de servicios adicionales, por ejemplo, atención al cliente 24/7, todas las integraciones, no tiene que fabricar ni enviar el producto, etc. Consideramos que nuestros precios son justos cuando se tienen en cuenta los servicios y calidad que ofrecemos.

Las tarifas de envío se basan en los costos de envío promedio para cada categoría de producto. Nuestros costos de envío se calculan directamente de nuestros transportistas; no nos enfocamos en obtener ninguna ganancia en el envío y trabajamos para obtener las mejores ofertas de los transportistas.

De verdad, los pedidos internacionales están experimentando tiempos de entrega más largos debido a la situación con Covid-19. Los envíos están tardando más de lo habitual debido a que se realizan principalmente con vuelos de pasajeros. Pero estos vuelos ahora mismo son limitados, mientras que el número de envíos sigue creciendo.
En nuestra página puede ver todas nuestras actualizaciones al respecto, incluyendo nuestros tiempos actuales de gestión.
https://www.printful.com/es/avisos-gestion

Si tiene alguna pregunta respecto a esto, no dude en contactarnos a través de correo electrónico: (feedback@printful.com).

- Elina

Moonfinity

GREAT APP. i am really satisfied.. still learning how to use it but as far as i can see, im not disappointed at all. Thank you.

Agility Mats

We have just started our business online. We are happy with the ease of this app so far. Lets see what the future holds!

Glamourpie

I Use this app so I may sell my artwork on clothing. It’s really cool so far. The quality of the clothing looks really amazing. It’s a little pricy but you can always sell it for more.

99 Wake Up - (MT VN)

The order was charged, and they did not ship after 15 days. After 15 days I contact and they said it was out of stock. Did not have any email, notification about that?

Developer reply

December 8, 2020

Hey there,

Thank you for sharing your review with us! We're sorry to see your order experienced a fulfillment delay!

I was able to locate the order and I see we had a stock delay from one of our suppliers. For products that are "restocking" we don't send an email notification. Please feel free to take a look at "What do the tags in my order view mean?" FAQ here: https://help.printful.com/hc/en-us/articles/360014068199-what-do-the-tags-in-my-order-view-mean-

I will follow up with you personally with more information and hopefully, we can work something out! :)

-Lauma

Lawnda

Excellent App
But most of the products out of stock and this limit my options
I Hope You Solve this soon

Developer reply

December 8, 2020

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you're enjoying our app! The "unavailable products" could be related to our 2 item product push limit. Please find more information here: https://www.printful.com/fulfillment-updates

Let us know if you have any questions, additonal comments, or anything else at feedback@printful.com

-Lauma

Giosto

I'm Using this app to design my own clothes for my brand (www.giosto.ch) since early 2019. I really like the quality of the products. It would be amazing if the shipping time would be faster, not the production time, that's fine. But the time when the product leaves the production, until it's at my customers house. But overall experience is very positive, can recommend it without doubt. Keep up like that :D