Product Options & Customizer

Product Options & Customizer

Free plan available. 14-day free trial.
Rating (4.8)
Reviews
1239 reviews
11 reviews
Overall rating
4.8
Counts per rating level
  • 88% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 1 stars
11 reviews
October 21, 2021

Great customer service with Yaneeke P. Otherwise, pretty disappointed that we can't view our live upload.

Puck Knob
United States
Time spent using app: 14 days
Product Customizer replied October 23, 2021

Hello to our friends from Puck Knob

We’re pleased that Yaneeke was able to resolve all your issues with the app promptly. We’ll make sure we pass your kind words along to Yaneeke, who we know will be delighted to read your comment. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and being so open with us. The live preview feature that you requested is on our roadmap and we will be launched soon. We're really thankful for amazing customers like you and we hope your store scores it big online!

Cheers,
Pushpesh & the Product Customizer Support Team

February 26, 2021

I switched to premium in order to have unlimited customization and now it wont even work, it wont even allow me to click the highlighted part requesting assistance.

Bee’z Beauty Empire
United States
Time spent using app: Almost 2 years
Product Customizer replied February 26, 2021

Hello there,

I am Takeen from the PC Dev Team. We are sorry about your experience with our app and we would definitely love to work on this for you as soon as possible.

You can reach out to our support team and ask for me directly, I will get back to you as this issue is very strange and indeed impacts your experience with our great app.

Looking to hear from you soon

-- Takeen

Edited April 28, 2021

Hoping that support gets better. We had an issue where the prouct dropdowns we created stopped calculating and adding the extra charges to the customization. For example, we might offer customers the ability to upgrade to white glove delivery for an extra fee. This is currently not adding the extra fee at all. When I recorded a video gif of the problem and sent them a link, they tried to say it's slow internet even though my gif clearly shows the blunder happening. Hoping to update my review once they fix it, but going on day 3 during one of the biggest selling periods of the year for us (mother's day) without a fix. UPDATE: Customizer has been fixed and is working, although I'm going to keep this review at 3* until it works solidly for a month without a hiccup.

BedPlanet
United States
Time spent using app: About 1 year
Product Customizer replied November 5, 2020

Hello to our friends from BedPlanet

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and being so open with us. We're really thankful for amazing customers like you and we hope your store scores it big online! :-)

-Melissa & The Product Options & Customizer Team

Edited May 19, 2020

Very Indepth Application, however, we do encounter quite a bit of lag between the application and Shopify when we are doing a mass update to our products. A wonderful feature would be the ability to update the order of options in a template that automatically updates the order of options to the products that template is assigned to. We find ourselves have to remove all options from our products and reapplying the template each time we change the order of options in a template. Also to be able to apply rules to a template without first have to do it in the product customize page would be amazing.

Dynamic Designs
United States
Time spent using app: Over 2 years
Product Customizer replied May 19, 2020

Hello friends from Dynamic Designs!

Thanks for leaving this feedback. Mass-updates to products where thousands of changes are taking place with one click do unfortunately take a little time to flow through all back-end systems. But we will be looking into other ways to speed that up.

In regards to the limitations with making changes to templates that lots of products use, I am adding this to our product roadmap now. I agree that those functions would be really helpful. I've emailed you directly as well. Hit me up when you can - thanks again so much for your help!

-Sean the Customer Success Manager & The Product Options and Customizer Support Team

May 28, 2019

The reason for three stars is that the app messed up the custom liquid I had done by a developer we hired. Please be aware that most developers won't fix any issues that arose from an outside source and will charge you to fix the glitch (which can be very costly) Product Customizer will say that it is not within their support to fix the issue that their theme created. In the end, even though the app looked promising and support did a great job making it look like part of your theme, we could not use the app. I would recommend this app if you do not have any custom liquid done on your product page. Also, remember to duplicate your theme before downloading the app. I was able to delete all the app's liquid within my theme with no problem and my issue was resolved once everything was deleted. Also, support was very helpful in all other matters and they do try to make their app work with your theme.

A Gilded Leaf
United States
Time spent using app: About 1 month
Product Customizer replied May 28, 2019

Hello!
This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager for Product Customizer. We took over this app from the previous owner :)

You left a negative review for Product Customizer a long time ago and I am emailing to see if you wouldn’t mind removing it (or adding more stars)?

We have already made several improvements and fixes to past issues with this app (including new features and 24/7 support) - and it REALLY helps our ranking on the App Store if we can remove the handful of negative reviews.

Please let me know how I can support you and help in return? I appreciate it very much!

-Sean & the Product Customizer Team

---------------------------
Previous Reply:​

This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager with Product Customizer. I wanted to say thanks for taking the time to review us. Our tier-2 tech support guy Daniel tried his best to figure out your formatting issue for a couple of days, but couldn't. ​Every now and than, we encounter a theme that we just can't seem to get working seamlessly with our app (granted that's VERY rare), and it is super frustrating for us when that happens, because we want it to work perfectly for ever user and client of ours.

​Again, please accept our apologies that this happened this way. Thanks for your understanding... ​Sean Hyatt, Customer Success Manager, Product Options & Customizer

May 17, 2019

The parts the app does, it does well and is easy to follow. But it won't adjust the total price in the price section (only in a little faded box below) which is a deal breaker for me. So I uninstalled it and went with another similar app for the same price that does.

Your Last Knife
Australia
Time spent using app: 3 days
Product Customizer replied May 20, 2019

Hello!
This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager for Product Customizer. We took over this app from the previous owner :)

You left a negative review for Product Customizer a long time ago and I am emailing to see if you wouldn’t mind removing it (or adding more stars)?

We have already made several improvements and fixes to past issues with this app (including new features and 24/7 support) - and it REALLY helps our ranking on the App Store if we can remove the handful of negative reviews.

Please let me know how I can support you and help in return? I appreciate it very much!

-Sean & the Product Customizer Team

---------------------------
Previous Reply:​

This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager with Product Customizer. I see you removed our app, and I am aware it was because our tech support could not move the location or appearance of the up-charge totals on your product pages. VERY sorry about that - it is a simple system limitation of our app. If it was something within our knowledge to tweak for you, we certainly would have gone to work asap to fix it. Im so sorry that this limitation was a "deal-breaker" for you.

Thanks for your time and for leaving this review -- it helps us to know what new features we can build into our app for the future, and what our clients are up against in this complex Shopify ecosystem. All the best to your store!

Edited March 23, 2019

Unfortunatelly, I have to change my review. App is not performing well (when a product has an additional paid option made by this app, after removing this product from a cart this paid option IS NOT removed and it's impossible to remove it; and on mobile, you can't remove neigher this product nor this paid option).
I did report this issue over three weeks ago and still it's not fixed. And for two weeks now I have no info from their part.
It's not at all professional and even if I like the rest part of this app, I just decided to delete it and use the other one. Sorry, but my store should work in 100% correctly. And with this app it doesn't.

ORIGINAL REVIEW:

I use this app for over a year now and I can't imagine my store without it.
Since I sell customized baby fashion, I need an app which gives me a possibility to add baby's name, birth date, or any other custom option. What is also very important to me is that I have more than 100 variants in almost all my products, and thanks to Product Customizer I can offer these products with ease.

What I really love in this app is conditional logic and the team (which is really helpfull).
The only thing I'd like to have in this app and which is missing is the product's photo change while changing product options.
But even that, for me it's the best app for products options.

SiMEDIO
Poland
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
Product Customizer replied March 19, 2020

Hello!
This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager for Product Customizer. We took over this app from the previous owner :)

You left a negative review for Product Customizer a long time ago and I am emailing to see if you wouldn’t mind removing it (or adding more stars)?

We have already made several improvements and fixes to past issues with this app (including new features and 24/7 support) - and it REALLY helps our ranking on the App Store if we can remove the handful of negative reviews.

Please let me know how I can support you and help in return? I appreciate it very much!

-Sean & the Product Customizer Team

August 11, 2018

Product Customizer is "OK" as a starter app, but has limitations that unfortunately are holding us back. Just went "blank" on us this morning and unable to modify or view any options.

Sexy Love Doll
Canada
Time spent using app: 6 months
Product Customizer replied March 19, 2020

Hello!
This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager for Product Customizer. We took over this app from the previous owner :)

You left a negative review for Product Customizer a long time ago and I am emailing to see if you wouldn’t mind removing it (or adding more stars)?

We have already made several improvements and fixes to past issues with this app (including new features and 24/7 support) - and it REALLY helps our ranking on the App Store if we can remove the handful of negative reviews.

Please let me know how I can support you and help in return? I appreciate it very much!

-Sean & the Product Customizer Team

February 26, 2016

It seemed to work for a while but every time a customer would go to the page it sometimes wouldn't even show up. Would be a blank section that didn't look good. I deleted the app but still got charged. Might work for others but not for me.

Armed To The Teeth
United States
Time spent using app: 20 days
Product Customizer replied March 19, 2020

Hello!
This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager for Product Customizer. We took over this app from the previous owner :)

You left a negative review for Product Customizer a long time ago and I am emailing to see if you wouldn’t mind removing it (or adding more stars)?

We have already made several improvements and fixes to past issues with this app (including new features and 24/7 support) - and it REALLY helps our ranking on the App Store if we can remove the handful of negative reviews.

Please let me know how I can support you and help in return? I appreciate it very much!

-Sean & the Product Customizer Team

February 10, 2014

Functional, but clunky.

The interface doesn't allow reordering options within a customization, so if you want to reorder or add an option anywhere but the bottom of the list, you have to delete your old options and retype them. Did your list include a typo? No problem - just delete everything after the typo and retype it all. For an app that supposedly offers unlimited customizations and options, this is an unforgivable oversight.

The interface doesn't allow a default that isn't the top field, so mid-range choices can never be the default without being out of order.

As of Feb 2014, the interface has an annoying bug that both displays the customization order in the control panel out-of-order from the actual final display and moves the wrong selections when you do move them. As a result, I'm unable to get my first customization to the top. For such a bare bones interface, I'd have expected this bug to never escape testing.

The customizer only allows selections in a long list - there's no ability to group customizations under headlines, include explanatory information between each option, or insert photos.

The interface doesn't distinguish between unmodified customizations and those you haven't saved yet, so you have to either keep track of what you've changed or re-save everything.

Product Customizer works... sorta.

Douglas Kent Rope
United States
Time spent using app: Over 6 years
Product Customizer replied March 19, 2020

Hello!
This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager for Product Customizer. We took over this app from the previous owner :)

You left a negative review for Product Customizer a long time ago and I am emailing to see if you wouldn’t mind removing it (or adding more stars)?

We have already made several improvements and fixes to past issues with this app (including new features and 24/7 support) - and it REALLY helps our ranking on the App Store if we can remove the handful of negative reviews.

Please let me know how I can support you and help in return? I appreciate it very much!

-Sean & the Product Customizer Team