Retail Barcode Labels

Retail Barcode Labels

by Shopify

Create and print barcode labels for your products

2.6 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    15% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    12% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    12% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    12% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    49% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

11 - 20 of 431 reviews

Yeet Street Discs

TLDR: This cost me a good bit of manual effort to recover from an overly ambitious action taken by the app. Be warned, if you want to mix barcodes with some of your products having externally assigned barcodes and some having generated barcodes, be sure to take backups regularly. This has an option to overwrite ALL barcodes that have not been automatically generated. Meaning this will wipe out ALL externally assigned barcodes from all products without a warning or confirmation. This was done by an employee, as there is no way to prevent it through permissions. I want the employee to be able to create new barcodes, but not overwrite the entire database of barcodes. Seems like this would be a valuable option to add. FYI, recovery was not simple, We had 10 days worth of heavy turnover since our last backup. Luckily, I was able to code up a solution to recover the older barcodes for the pre-existing barcodes, but the newer entries where a total loss. We had to manually rescan 400+ products to recover. One would think that shopify would have thought this one out a little more, and that they would offer a free backup scheduling app for when things go badly. Not really impressed.

Developer reply

June 19, 2021

Hey, there. Sorry to hear about the issues caused by the overwrite and we'd be happy to share your experience with our developers, so that your suggestions can be taken into consideration for future developments.

As for backing up, there are a couple of options you can consider - you can export a copy of your products to a CSV file (https://bit.ly/3wCodAB) or use a third-party app, like Rewind Backups (https://bit.ly/3vBrb7f), which is capable of scheduled backups.

Thanks again for taking the time and sharing these suggestions with us. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

Zinc Garden

We are trying to use this app for labels in our retail shop. We purchased avery labels as the app states it can print on avery, however, there is no 1x1 square template. We now have 5000 labels and no way to print on them as well as unmarked products. Shopify told us to contact the developed for a solution and they told us they were not adding that template at this time.

Developer reply

June 19, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for taking the time and sharing this feedback with us. While I can confirm that Avery labels are supported, our guide (https://bit.ly/3zG8um4) does indicate that only their standard label size (2.63" x 1") is supported at the moment. Nevertheless, we can see how supporting more label sizes (for Avery) can be beneficial for our merchants, like yourself, and we'd be happy to pass this suggestion along to our developers for future considerations. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

Biohydro

Hello, we are not able to show the price on label, rest of the Label preview is added.
Please help. thank you

Developer reply

June 9, 2021

Hello, there. You can add the price to the labels when creating the barcode label template; however, the number of product attributes you can include on your label does depend on the size of the label you're using. That being said, we also have a guide to help you with that right over here: https://bit.ly/3w9h9eF.

If you need any further assistance with this, our Support team would be happy to assist you through live chat, email, or callback. Please visit the Shopify Help Center and log in to your account to create a support request. -Elias, Shopify Support

Fountainhall Wines

You would expect a Shopify Barcode Label App to be able to create a label that shows both the original compare price & the actual discounted price of an item. This BASIC REQUIREMENT for any retail store is however not a feature & Shopify instead expects you to pay for a third party app. Seems absolutely absurd but Shopify doesn't seem to care.

Developer reply

May 28, 2021

We appreciate you providing your feedback to us here and I can appreciate why not having this option is a frustration for you. Merchant feedback plays a big part in how changes are made to our platform, and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our development team for them to consider. -Victor, Shopify Support

Beach and Barn

We use the app to print barcode labels for our outgoing products for our customers that require a UPC, and it works great. We want to use it to print barcode images for our SKUs for internal use. Is that possible? I guess this is a question for the developer.

Developer reply

May 28, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and for providing your feedback and question here. The app is primarily designed for you to print barcodes for your products, but you could certainly use the app for internal use as well. The app allows you to customize what's featured on the labels and also supports different label types and sizes; you can read more on the customization options here: https://bit.ly/3vu8zXO.

I'd recommend taking a read through this document and checking the options within the app, but if you need any further help using the app, please don't hesitate to reach out to our team for more information and assistance: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

Shop Relentless Boutique

doesn't work, I've adjusted everything to the right size and when you print it still doesn't add up to the margins

Developer reply

May 20, 2021

Hi, there. Sorry to hear that the label isn't adding up to the margins. If this problem is persisting, our Support team would be happy to assist you through live chat, email, or callback. Please visit the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/34fzJ8F) and log into your account to create a support request. -Elias, Shopify Support

VOLTLIN

This app has been available for a really long time and to know Shopify hasn't addressed the issued/major complaints with this app is frustrating. This app is basically useless unless used under perfect circumstances.

Developer reply

May 19, 2021

Thank you for reaching out and I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing issues with the app. If this problem is continuing, please contact our support team directly so we can take a closer look at things and troubleshoot the issue: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Oliver, Shopify Support

Swoon

The jewelry tags are very frustrating. They don't give show the sku or the barcode. This makes tagging labor intensive. Also the Dymo labels used constantly get clogged in the dymo printer.

Developer reply

May 19, 2021

Hi, there! Thanks for reaching out and for providing your feedback. Customization options are limited for smaller sized labels at this time but I'll pass your feedback along to our team internally! -Oliver

BMO 1980

Hi. we have set normal price & discount price for our products but we cannot set which price we wanted to print on the label. by default it will set & print discount price.

Developer reply

May 18, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to share your review. At the moment, it's not possible to display the "Compare at" price of products on your labels. However, I can definitely understand how this would be a great feature to have, so I'll be sure to share this with our developers. Thanks again! - Julie, Shopify Support

DECANTsf

Honestly, we need more options for Dymo templates. Shopify Hardware sold us Dymo Hardware, but the size tags we need vs what is available as a template are way too big. Need this to be more customizable, so we can choose *Just* barcode and name of item, on a smaller Dymo label ( 1⁄2 x 1 7⁄8" or 1⁄2 x 1"). It's so limiting.

Developer reply

May 15, 2021

Hi, there. Thank you for leaving a review and providing us with your feedback. I can see how having more options for the label sizes can be beneficial for our merchants, like yourself, and I'd be happy to share your comments with our developers. Thanks again! -Elias, Shopify Support