Retail Barcode Labels

Create and print barcode labels for your products



2.5 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    14% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    12% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    12% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    48% of ratings are 1 stars
41 - 50 of 443 reviews

DR Mower Parts

This is a terrific app to create bar codes quickly. It didn't work so well for sheets of Avery labels, but is terrific with the Dymo LabelWriter 450. Quick to create and you can print barcodes from multiple places in Shopify.


Its really not great, I am sorry to say. We have used Shopkeep prior, and I have to say Shopkeep is far superior with many aspects, especially barcode labels. This is about a 4 step process, and it should be 1 click. we cant print the size labels we want that has our store name on it. Customers actually find us by looking to see where the items they were gifted were purchased!!!

Developer reply

April 12, 2021

I'm sorry to hear that you've had a bad experience using the Retail Barcode Labels app, but thank you for providing us with details of your time using the app here. I can see why reducing the amount of clicks used when generating labels would be helpful, especially when printing a large number of labels, and I'll be sure to submit your feedback to our app development team. -Victor, Shopify Support


It works but needs tweaks to be a good useable app. Firstly, If you have spent 10 minutes finding all the products you wish to print barcodes for, if one is missing a number, rather than throw you out of all the hard work you have done putting it on a list to print, how about it designate a barcode and then go to the next page for the quantity of labels needed?. This one is the deal breaker for me. Transfers!. I have just put over 350 new stock items that arrived today, now all of these products need barcode labels. Why cant there be a button to print barcode labels from that screen. It would save hours of work?. It took me ages to enter it for the transfer, having to compile the exact list again to generate the labels is a huge waste of time!.

Developer reply

April 12, 2021

Thank you for getting in touch and writing your review, and I can certainly sympathize with your frustrations here and see why the suggestions you've made would be beneficial. They are greatly appreciated as merchant feedback plays a big part in platform development here at Shopify, and I will be sure to pass your comments onto our development team for them to consider. -Victor, Shopify Support

Myers Sewing

I use this app to help me print barcodes. It works flawlessly with DYMO Printers. I highly recommend it.


Useless - I ticked to print barcode label for a VARIANT, it shows Product wording instead of the variant if you have 20 variants, eg: "Red shirt" - of 1 product - "shirt" it prints "Shirt" but not " red shirt" Shopify support knows nothing too

Developer reply

April 9, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us, it helps us immensely. By default, the product title is listed on the labels but the Retail Barcode Labels app actually does allow you to add your variant titles. You'll just need to create a new label template with Variant option 1/2/3(depending on your needs) selected. You can see how to create a new template here: - Oliver, Shopify Support

Dancefloor Shop


Developer reply

April 5, 2021

Thanks for reaching out and i'm glad to hear the app is working well for you. I'll also submit this feedback to our development team for you. - Oliver, Shopify Support

I Dance Contemporary

I used this app to help me generate barcodes for my products. Google blocked and didn’t publish products to Google because of the barcodes generated by this app. I have logged in a case with Shopify Chat Support. They could not help and they will come back to me when they have a solution. Until then, I am giving 1 star to this app. I will update if the things will sort out well.

Developer reply

April 5, 2021

Thank you for reaching out and sharing your feedback with us, and I am sorry to hear that you've experienced some issues getting your products approved by Google. It sounds like you've already contacted our Support team which is exactly what I would have recommended. Hope we can get this cleared up with you as soon as possible! -Oliver, Shopify Support


I think it is a convenience app for a barcode. The only and most problematic thing is that the app does not support my language and my currency. Quite a disappointing since Shopify itself did a great job with translating the language.

Developer reply

April 2, 2021

I'm glad to hear that you're finding the app convenient, and thank you for sharing that feedback with us here. I can certainly see why being able to use the app in your own language would be helpful, so I will go ahead and pass your feedback onto our development team for their consideration. -Oliver, Shopify Support

Curvy Beach

Hi! I love these barcodes but needs help making multiple item barcodes per sheet. Can you help me with that? Thank you!

Developer reply

March 31, 2021

Thank you for reaching out and I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying the app! In terms of customizing the barcodes, the options available to you may depend on which type of printer you're using, or how you have your template set up.

I would recommend reaching out to our support team directly so that you can be authenticated on the store and we can take a closer look at trying to get your barcode labels set up correctly. You can do so via this link: -Victor, Shopify Support

Gateside Plant Centre

I used this app to start using barcodes for the very first time and it was seamless. Very easy to use and a great time saver for stock control. Thanks