Retail Barcode Labels

Create and print barcode labels for your products

Shopify app insights
  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Price: Free

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Speed tested: no impact to your online store


2.2 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

Counts per rating level
  • 14% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 48% of ratings are 1 stars

Filter and sort reviews

11 - 20 of 223 reviews

The Nerd Mall

Location United States
Time spent using app 8 months

DESTROYED MY BUSINESS ON CHRISTMAS EVE! After 9 months of uneventful use this grinchy piece of software decided to overwrite every single barcode on all 35,000 items at my stores. We don't know how. Shopify support doesn't know how. No one can do anything. The staff at our multiple locations have had to manually search for every item in the POS, forcing customers into long checkout lines. Even with uploading backup data, we are going to have to burn payroll to rescan at least 2,000 items. This app has turned this jolly fella into a full on scrooge. Humbug I say, Humbug!

Developer reply

January 5, 2022

Hey, there. Sorry to hear about the issues caused by the overwrite. While we don't have any additional information how that could have happened, this may be something that our Technical team can look into. Please get in touch with our Support team again by visiting the Shopify Help Center ( and make a request to have this issue escalated.

With a large product catalog, we do recommend making a backup in the event this happens again. There are a couple of options you can consider for doing this, such as by exporting a copy of your products to a CSV file ( or using a third-party app, like Rewind Backups (

Thanks again for taking the time and bringing this to our attention. -Elias, Shopify Support

Location Australia
Time spent using app 11 days

Junk bar codes that are only valid for your own personal use. Bar codes are 12 digits and these are only 8.

Developer reply

December 15, 2021

Hi, there. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and share your feedback. If you already have barcodes, then the number of digits in your barcode is dependent on the label size you are using, as per our guide here: However, if you want to use the app to create barcode labels, then there will be only 8 digits as per here:

I can certainly see the benefit in creating barcodes with more than eight digits when creating barcode labels and I would be happy to submit your feedback to our developers for future consideration. Thanks again for your feedback! -Marty, Shopify Support

Sommer Athleisure & Co

Location Singapore
Time spent using app 21 days

does not support device camera scanning because it cant generate 10 digit barcode, look for something else if you want to use ios camera as barcode scanner

Developer reply

October 11, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. While you can use the device camera to scan the barcodes (, it seems to only support the 1D or 2D barcodes generated by the app. Nevertheless, we'd be happy to share your feedback with our developers. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

Vital Industries

Location United States
Time spent using app Almost 2 years

For a free app, it works pretty good if you are using sheets. However, there is no way to edit the print layout before it creates the pdf. This makes it unusable, as my labels are on a roll and print a different orientation from what is created.

Developer reply

September 27, 2021

Thank you for reaching out and for providing your review, and I'm sorry to hear that you've found the app to be unsuitable for your business. The app does allow you to print labels in varying sizes for supported printers (, and prior to printing you are able to select the template you want to use. There is an option to print in either a sheet or roll format based on the printer you have.

If this still does not offer you the customization options you're looking for, I understand that the app may not be suitable for you. However, if you're using a supported printer and would like further assistance with the app, please reach out to our support team who'd be happy to help you further: -Victor, Shopify Support

Dress Code by N Marie

Location United States
Time spent using app 3 months

I have been trying for days to print these barcodes. It seems there is some kind of glitch and it really pissing me off!

Developer reply

July 9, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and I'm sorry to hear that you've had an issue with printing labels via the app. It's often worth trying to print the labels in another web browser to see if the issue is present there, but if it is, I'd recommend contacting our support team directly so they can authenticate you on your store and take a closer look at the problem for you. You can contact our team here: -Victor, Shopify Support


Location United States
Time spent using app About 1 hour

done. don't happy with this app oke. make sure you change product when using this again, trust error

Developer reply

July 1, 2021

I am sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience using the Retail Barcode Labels app but we appreciate you sharing your feedback with us here. If you have questions about the app or are experiencing issues, please feel free to reach out to our support team at anytime so we can try and assist: -Victor, Shopify Support

Wickaninnish Gallery

Location Canada
Time spent using app 3 months

This app is garbage. A complete waste of time. If you have thousands of labels to print on smaller items and need to use Avery 5167, it only allows the barcode and the price. What a complete downgrade from my current system. I'm not thrilled about having to pay for a different app when this one should be so much better. Come on Shopify. Look at the reviews. This app needs to be overhauled. Efficient barcoding helps with effiecient inventory management which is part of the foundation of running a successful retail operation.

Developer reply

June 30, 2021

I am sorry to hear that you have had such a negative experience using the app, but nonetheless we appreciate you sharing your feedback with us here. I can appreciate why the limitations you have cited are disappointing and why alternative options may be required, and also that barcoding is an important part of efficient inventory management.

Our development team take merchant feedback into consideration when it comes to improving and enhancing the platform, apps included, so I will be sure to pass your comments onto them for their consideration. -Victor, Shopify Support

Zinc Garden

Location United States
Time spent using app 3 months

We are trying to use this app for labels in our retail shop. We purchased avery labels as the app states it can print on avery, however, there is no 1x1 square template. We now have 5000 labels and no way to print on them as well as unmarked products. Shopify told us to contact the developed for a solution and they told us they were not adding that template at this time.

Developer reply

June 19, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for taking the time and sharing this feedback with us. While I can confirm that Avery labels are supported, our guide ( does indicate that only their standard label size (2.63" x 1") is supported at the moment. Nevertheless, we can see how supporting more label sizes (for Avery) can be beneficial for our merchants, like yourself, and we'd be happy to pass this suggestion along to our developers for future considerations. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support


Location Kuwait
Time spent using app About 1 year

Hello, we are not able to show the price on label, rest of the Label preview is added.
Please help. thank you

Developer reply

June 9, 2021

Hello, there. You can add the price to the labels when creating the barcode label template; however, the number of product attributes you can include on your label does depend on the size of the label you're using. That being said, we also have a guide to help you with that right over here:

If you need any further assistance with this, our Support team would be happy to assist you through live chat, email, or callback. Please visit the Shopify Help Center and log in to your account to create a support request. -Elias, Shopify Support

Fountainhall Wines

Location United Kingdom
Time spent using app About 1 year

You would expect a Shopify Barcode Label App to be able to create a label that shows both the original compare price & the actual discounted price of an item. This BASIC REQUIREMENT for any retail store is however not a feature & Shopify instead expects you to pay for a third party app. Seems absolutely absurd but Shopify doesn't seem to care.

Developer reply

May 28, 2021

We appreciate you providing your feedback to us here and I can appreciate why not having this option is a frustration for you. Merchant feedback plays a big part in how changes are made to our platform, and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our development team for them to consider. -Victor, Shopify Support