Retail Barcode Labels

Retail Barcode Labels

Price: Free
Rating (2.3)
Reviews
Developer
473 reviews
226 reviews
Overall rating
2.3
Counts per rating level
  • 14% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 14% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 48% of ratings are 1 stars
226 reviews
March 3, 2022

I was so happy to download this app. After trying out for the 4th times generating barcodes for my cosmetics product, nothing works. I have a QRbot app on my phone to test, only able to scan the barcode numbers without any necessary info shows up of what my product is.

Victori’Ahh’s Vanity
United States
Time spent using app: 7 months
Shopify replied March 20, 2022

Thank you for writing your review and for notifying us of this problem. I would recommend reaching out to our support team directly so we can authenticate you on the store and take a closer look at this for you. You can contact our support team through this link: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

February 21, 2022

Terrible. Continually problems with Google shopping feed. All the barcodes state that they are" not valid" with GTIN and google turned it down. I did an online chat and resolved some of the issues, but then checked back and everything is still the same. Not valid Barcode. Very frustrated. I am extremely unhappy and this seems to be an issue for others as well as me. I will come back to change my rating if support help me to have "valid" GTIN that google shopping won't turn me down.

Southern Rayne
United States
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
Shopify replied February 25, 2022

Hey, there. Thank you for taking the time and bringing this to our attention. It's important to note that the GTIN that Google requires is the unique product identifiers assigned by the manufacturers. While the GTIN isn't something that the Retail Barcode Labels app can help with, our barcodes can be used for store management purposes.

That being said, if you need help finding the GTIN for registered products, then you'll want to check out Google's documentation on that here: https://bit.ly/3HkUm4b. However, if you're selling custom products, then they do not need to have a unique identifier.

If you need more assistance with this issue, then this is something that our Support team would be happy to help you with. Please reach out to our Support team via the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA). Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

January 31, 2022

This app doesn't assist with in store barcoding effectively. It has no ability to show the original price & a marked down price. I have used this for years as it is the only option in Shopify but it is very disappointing.

Public Figure
Australia
Time spent using app: About 1 year
Shopify replied February 7, 2022

Thank you for writing your review and for sharing your concerns regarding the Retail Barcode Labels app. I can certainly see why being able to display the current price and the comparative price on your barcodes would be beneficial and I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our development team. -Victor, Shopify Support

January 11, 2022

Destroyed my Google shopping feed, all the barcode are not valid with GTIN and google turned it down I asked for help, I will come back to change my rating if support help me to have "valid" GTIN that google shopping won't turn me down. Before i didn't have a single issue

Koss Design
Ireland
Time spent using app: 1 day
Shopify replied January 17, 2022

Thank you for writing your review and I'm sorry to hear that you've had this issue. Barcodes generated via the Retail Barcode Labels app will be unique to your store, whereas Google requires specific barcodes if you are selling registered products. These barcodes would generally be predetermined and barcodes generated via the app would not be appropriate, unless the products you are selling are custom products. Custom products do not need to have a unique identifier.

If you'd like to receive more assistance for this issue, please reach out to our support team who would be happy to help: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor

December 24, 2021

DESTROYED MY BUSINESS ON CHRISTMAS EVE! After 9 months of uneventful use this grinchy piece of software decided to overwrite every single barcode on all 35,000 items at my stores. We don't know how. Shopify support doesn't know how. No one can do anything. The staff at our multiple locations have had to manually search for every item in the POS, forcing customers into long checkout lines. Even with uploading backup data, we are going to have to burn payroll to rescan at least 2,000 items. This app has turned this jolly fella into a full on scrooge. Humbug I say, Humbug!

The Nerd Mall
United States
Time spent using app: 8 months
Shopify replied January 5, 2022

Hey, there. Sorry to hear about the issues caused by the overwrite. While we don't have any additional information how that could have happened, this may be something that our Technical team can look into. Please get in touch with our Support team again by visiting the Shopify Help Center (https://bit.ly/3cJkx8V) and make a request to have this issue escalated.

With a large product catalog, we do recommend making a backup in the event this happens again. There are a couple of options you can consider for doing this, such as by exporting a copy of your products to a CSV file (https://bit.ly/3wCodAB) or using a third-party app, like Rewind Backups (https://bit.ly/3vBrb7f).

Thanks again for taking the time and bringing this to our attention. -Elias, Shopify Support

December 9, 2021

Junk bar codes that are only valid for your own personal use. Bar codes are 12 digits and these are only 8.

itzalifestyle.store
Australia
Time spent using app: 11 days
Shopify replied December 15, 2021

Hi, there. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and share your feedback. If you already have barcodes, then the number of digits in your barcode is dependent on the label size you are using, as per our guide here: https://bit.ly/3pZeW3m. However, if you want to use the app to create barcode labels, then there will be only 8 digits as per here: https://bit.ly/3dO0zJA.

I can certainly see the benefit in creating barcodes with more than eight digits when creating barcode labels and I would be happy to submit your feedback to our developers for future consideration. Thanks again for your feedback! -Marty, Shopify Support

October 6, 2021

does not support device camera scanning because it cant generate 10 digit barcode, look for something else if you want to use ios camera as barcode scanner

Sommer Athleisure & Co
Singapore
Time spent using app: 21 days
Shopify replied October 11, 2021

Hey, there. Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. While you can use the device camera to scan the barcodes (https://bit.ly/3DLLzXR), it seems to only support the 1D or 2D barcodes generated by the app. Nevertheless, we'd be happy to share your feedback with our developers. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

September 23, 2021

For a free app, it works pretty good if you are using sheets. However, there is no way to edit the print layout before it creates the pdf. This makes it unusable, as my labels are on a roll and print a different orientation from what is created.

Vital Industries
United States
Time spent using app: Almost 2 years
Shopify replied September 27, 2021

Thank you for reaching out and for providing your review, and I'm sorry to hear that you've found the app to be unsuitable for your business. The app does allow you to print labels in varying sizes for supported printers (https://bit.ly/2Wiy4ib), and prior to printing you are able to select the template you want to use. There is an option to print in either a sheet or roll format based on the printer you have.

If this still does not offer you the customization options you're looking for, I understand that the app may not be suitable for you. However, if you're using a supported printer and would like further assistance with the app, please reach out to our support team who'd be happy to help you further: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

July 7, 2021

I have been trying for days to print these barcodes. It seems there is some kind of glitch and it really pissing me off!

Dress Code by N Marie
United States
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
Shopify replied July 9, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and I'm sorry to hear that you've had an issue with printing labels via the app. It's often worth trying to print the labels in another web browser to see if the issue is present there, but if it is, I'd recommend contacting our support team directly so they can authenticate you on your store and take a closer look at the problem for you. You can contact our team here: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

June 27, 2021

done. don't happy with this app oke. make sure you change product when using this again, trust error

Emergenci
United States
Time spent using app: About 1 hour
Shopify replied July 1, 2021

I am sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience using the Retail Barcode Labels app but we appreciate you sharing your feedback with us here. If you have questions about the app or are experiencing issues, please feel free to reach out to our support team at anytime so we can try and assist: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support