tawk.to Live Chat

Free Messaging App to Monitor & Chat with site Visitors

  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Free

Reviews

4.2 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    80% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    11% of ratings are 1 stars
11 - 20 of 24 reviews

Vibra Tropical

NOT FREE. While setting up the app, right at the end it makes you pay 12 or 15 dollars

Developer reply

March 1, 2019

hello! The software is indeed 100% free just so as long as you are happy to keep the little "powered by tawk.to" link on the chat widget.

You can add unlimited agents, and add it to unlimited sites and use it free forever - the only "add-on" option is $12/m to remove our branding, which is 100% optional. Not necessary, and you definitely are not obliged to remove branding :)

Claribelskincare

Extremely deceptive. Not free! Immediately asks me to choose $12 or $15 monthly fee before you can set up the app. Buyer beware!!

Developer reply

March 1, 2019

hello! The software is indeed 100% free just so as long as you are happy to keep the little "powered by tawk.to" link on the chat widget.

You can add unlimited agents, and add it to unlimited sites and use it free forever - the only "add-on" option is $12/m to remove our branding, which is 100% optional. Not necessary, and you definitely are not obliged to remove branding :)

Sixthgalleria

its 12$ and 15$ NOT FREE..they ask u details, after stealing email and other deatils, n ruining 15min, then they ask for money!.

Developer reply

March 1, 2019

hello! The software is indeed 100% free just so as long as you are happy to keep the little "powered by tawk.to" link on the chat widget.

You can add unlimited agents, and add it to unlimited sites and use it free forever - the only "add-on" option is $12/m to remove our branding, which is 100% optional. Not necessary, and you definitely are not obliged to remove branding :)

Forge Hardware Studio

This app worked very well for a while and now the messages get cut off. We can't read what our customers are saying!! We wrote an email to support and never heard back. Not recommended.

Developer reply

March 1, 2019

Hello - thanks for your review.

This issue was intermittent while we were shipping an update back in march 2018. If you're still experiencing this issue, please do let us know?

Support is available 24x7-365 via live chat on our site.

Wilkes Riley

I would give this app zero stars if possible! Stay away from this app, the only chat you'll have is with them because this app is a huge waste of time.NOT USER FRIENDLY. Read all the previous reviews before your move forward. You've been warned. They have all the potential except they overwhelm you and seriously under-deliver!

Developer reply

August 31, 2021

Hi Wilkes Riley,

Thank you for choosing tawk.to and sharing your challenge here.

We value your feedback and will continue to work on improving our products and services.

The Shopify integration with tawk.to can be found directly on the Shopify App Store.

It takes only seconds to add your tawk.to widget to your Shopify account.

To download the tawk.to app from Shopify, follow the steps below:

1. Log in to your Shopify dashboard.

2. Visit https://apps.shopify.com/tawk-to.

3. Click the Add app button for the tawk.to app.

4. Select the green Install app button to continue. You'll then be prompted to log in to your tawk.to account and give permission to Shopify.

5. Then log in to your tawk.to account from the tawk.to app in your Shopify dashboard and choose the property and widget you would like to add to your site.

The widget will be added to all pages of your Shopify site.

Helpful link: https://help.tawk.to/article/shopify

An alternative way to integrate tawk.to with your Shopify site is to copy and paste the tawk.to widget code into your site's HTML before the closing body tag.

Helpful link:
https://help.tawk.to/article/adding-a-widget-to-your-website

If you have any other questions, require assistance, or just want to talk to someone at tawk.to, here is a link to my calendar: https://calendly.com/siennarubio/30min. I'd be happy to help!

Boondock Creek

This app gets in its own way. Too many unnecessary features, and not organized enough to sort them all out. Customer service was unable to figure out why I couldn't get notifications on my iPhone, and blamed it on me or my phone. I switched to Tidio - MUCH simpler, everything I need, still free, and notifications work fine.

Developer reply

August 31, 2021

Hi Boondock Creek,

Thank you for choosing tawk.to and for sharing your challenge here.

Changing your notification settings may depend on the iOS version that you have.

You will have to enable the 'Allow Notifications' setting for the tawk.to app or change the alert styles.

For iOS 12-14, you may need to change the Show Previews setting for your notifications or the appearance of your Notification Grouping.

Visit this link to learn how to set up alerts for tawk.to on the iOS version of your phone: https://help.tawk.to/article/why-am-i-not-getting-notifications-on-ios

We have just released a major update to our chat widget.
See our latest release here: https://www.tawk.to/category/updates/

Our Widget Cards allow you to personalize the content of your chat widget. You can add any kind of content to your chat widget, including videos, images and a search bar. It’s like having a mini-website in the chat.

To learn more about how to customize the Widget Cards, visit this link: https://help.tawk.to/article/customizing-the-widget-header-and-body-cards

If you have any other questions, require assistance, or just want to talk to someone at tawk.to, here is a link to my calendar: https://calendly.com/siennarubio/30min. I'd be happy to help!

Le Tablier Bleu

Very Hard to install. I uninstalled in order to do a fresh reinstall but the system blocked me.

Developer reply

August 31, 2021

Hi Le Tablier Bleu,

Thank you for choosing tawk.to and for sharing your challenge here.

There is an easy fix if you encountered issues when installing the tawk.to chat widget on your Shopify dashboard.

Follow the steps below to install the chat widget:

1. Clear your browser and cookies.
2. Log in to your Shopify dashboard.
3. Visit https://apps.shopify.com/tawk-to.
4. Click the Add app button for the tawk.to app.
5. Select the green Install app button to continue. You'll then be prompted to log in to your tawk.to account and give permission to Shopify.
6. Then log in to your tawk.to account from the tawk.to app in your Shopify dashboard and choose the property and widget you would like to add to your site.

The widget will be added to all pages of your Shopify site.

Helpful link:https://help.tawk.to/article/shopify

An alternative way to integrate tawk.to with your Shopify site is to copy and paste the tawk.to widget code into your site's HTML before your site’s closing body tag.

For more information, read this article: https://help.tawk.to/article/adding-a-widget-to-your-website

You can reach out to us 24/7 for support with any urgent matters. Our live agents are always available to assist you.

You can also email me at sienna.rubio@tawk.to or book a call here: https://calendly.com/siennarubio/30min.

Marionsfashionloft

Very difficult to install. I tried 5 times and also used one of the videos and it wouldnt show up pn my store. time waster.

Developer reply

August 31, 2021

Hi Marionsfashionloft,

Thank you for choosing tawk.to and for reaching out.

There are two ways to add the tawk.to widget to your site.

#1 - Copy and paste the tawk.to widget code into your site's HTML before the closing body tag.

Helpful link:
https://help.tawk.to/article/adding-a-widget-to-your-website

#2 - Use the Plugin for Shopify.

To download the tawk.to app from Shopify, follow the steps below:

1. Log in to your Shopify dashboard.

2. Then visit https://apps.shopify.com/tawk-to.

3. Click the Add app button for the tawk.to app.

4. Select the green Install app button to continue. You'll then be prompted to log in to your tawk.to account and give permission to Shopify.

5. Then log in to your tawk.to account from the tawk.to app in your Shopify dashboard and choose the property and widget you would like to add to your site.

The widget will be added to all pages of your Shopify site.
Helpful link: https://help.tawk.to/article/shopify

Should you have any questions, require assistance, or just want to talk to someone at tawk.to, here is a link to my calendar: https://calendly.com/siennarubio/30min. I'd be happy to help!

Vigotore

Nobody has got back to me on removing the rest of this app off my site.

Developer reply

August 31, 2021

Hi Vigotore,

This is Sienna from tawk.to reaching out.

We do apologize for the challenges you experienced with our support team.

There are some circumstances in which we need to escalate cases to find answers and it takes additional time to revert back to you.

If you have manually added the chat widget code to your Shopify account, you can follow the steps below to uninstall the widget code:

(Note that this guide uses the "Basic Liquid Theme - Debut" as an example. If you have a different theme and you don't have theme.liquid file, please refer to your theme's developer where you can find or try to look for footer.liquid"

1 - Go to your Shopify Dashboard, Click ‘Online Store’ - See this screenshot: https://prnt.sc/oj1s19

2 - Click ‘Action’ > ‘Edit Code.’ See this screenshot: https://prnt.sc/oj1tg7

3 - In ‘Layout,’ click the theme.liquid file. Then scroll to the bottom and you'll see the tag. See this screenshot: https://prnt.sc/oj1v0s. You can also use the Find function (Ctrl+F) to locate the start and end code of the tawk.to widget code.

4 - Delete the tawk.to script code from it and Save

I hope this addresses your concern.

Let me know if you have any other questions, require assistance, or just want to talk to someone at tawk.to. Here is a link to my calendar: https://calendly.com/siennarubio/30min. I'd be happy to help!

Olive Winter

It didn't work on my site? I downloaded it correctly.

Developer reply

August 31, 2021

Hi Olive Winter,

Thank you for choosing tawk.to and for reaching out.

There are two ways to integrate the tawk.to live chat into your site.

#1 - Copy and paste the tawk.to widget code into your site's HTML before the closing body tag.

Helpful link:
https://help.tawk.to/article/adding-a-widget-to-your-website

#2 - Use the Plugin for Shopify.

To download the tawk.to app from Shopify, follow the steps below:

1. Log in to your Shopify dashboard.
2. Visit https://apps.shopify.com/tawk-to.
3. Click the Add app button for the tawk.to app.
4. Select the green Install app button to continue. You'll then be prompted to log in to your tawk.to account and give permission to Shopify.
5. Then log in to your tawk.to account from the tawk.to app in your Shopify dashboard and choose the property and widget you would like to add to your site.
The widget will be added to all pages of your Shopify site.

Helpful link: https://help.tawk.to/article/shopify

Should you have any questions, require assistance, or just want to talk to someone at tawk.to, here is a link to my calendar: https://calendly.com/siennarubio/30min. I'd be happy to help!