Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads | Reviews

by Shopify

Sell digital products in your store

2.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    40% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    15% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    13% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    19% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

11 - 20 of 59 reviews

Tarnowski Art Company

I have been busy on a number of projects getting product ready to sell on the the digital downloads app only to learn as I am trying to launch that my safari browser is apparently incompatible with it? Well needless to say not switching browsers so for that I give 1 star. I can't judge its performance or functionality. Hopefully they can adjust the browser thing at least.

Developer reply

April 26, 2021

Hi, there! Thanks for the feedback. Safari is indeed one of the supported browsers when using Shopify. This could be a case where the browser is outdated and needs to be updated. I'd recommend checking on that and if you're having any further issues, please get in touch with our Support team directly: https://bit.ly/3cJkx8V. -Oliver, Shopify Support

instantcurles.com

I thought this app would be perfect for me since it's created by Shopify but it turned out that it's not working at all. I can't download anything and the download button doesn't work. Please fix that asap.

Developer reply

March 29, 2021

I'm sorry to hear that you've had issues downloading products via the app, and thank you for sharing that feedback with us here. It's possible that this may be a local issue so I would recommend trying on other browsers and devices to see if the issue is replicable there.

If the problem persists, I would recommend contacting our support team directly so that you can be authenticated on the store and this issue can be investigated more thoroughly. You can reach out to us directly here: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

Slather Bath + Body Subscription

Only allows you to add one digital product. This app is not for anyone needing to upload several live downloadable products.

Developer reply

March 6, 2021

Hey, there! To clarify, you're welcome to add multiple digital products, however you'll only be able to add one attachment per product. If you need multiple attachments on the same product, you can always use an archive file type that contains multiple files, such as a .zip. Hope that helps! - Brie, Shopify Support

Shop Shiba Squad™

This app keeps giving me a "server error". There is no support and no explanation for why it's down!

Developer reply

January 25, 2021

Hey, there. Thanks for reaching out about this! We seem to have a few other reviews that mention the same error, and we're in the process of figuring out if this is a localized error or an issue with the app. I'll reach out to you shortly to gather some screenshots or a recording of the issue, which will help us with this investigation; hopefully we can get this resolved as soon as possible. Cheers and speak soon! - Brie, Shopify Support

On The Fritts Designs

If I could give this app zero stars I would. First off my attachments were wiped from all my products over 1700...they say the app does not store the attachments anywhere so there is no way to retrieve them. Secondly when I open the app it shows all my products have an attachment when hardly any of them do at this point. This has been a complete and total nightmare and has cost me big time in loosing sales. Considering this app is made by shopify I am pretty shocked at how bad it is. I would not recommend this app to anyone. Oh and I have also reached out twice with no response.

Developer reply

December 11, 2020

Thank you for leaving this detailed review. It sounds like you've had a really difficult time with Digital Downloads, and I'd like to speak with you directly to look into this situation and ensure you receive the support you need. I'm going to reach out to you via email so that we can discuss this further. I'll be in touch soon! - Rae, Shopify Support

Lifua

I made a Test puchast in my store and after that is shown Preparing your downloads and untill now i didnt get the file!!
can you solve this please?

Developer reply

November 30, 2020

Thank you for sharing this review, and letting us know about the trouble you've encountered with download links not being sent to customers. I'd like to help look into this further with you, so I'm going to follow up with you via email. If you still need assistance with this, please make sure to reply directly back to my email once you receive it. Talk to you soon! - Oliver, Shopify Support

Wide World of Radio

I find Digital Downloads is quite simple to use. At first I was frustrated that there was no "How To" explanation of how to use the app in the app store.
I was putting the cart before the horse. Shopify Help had an easy to understand video on how to use Digital Download. I searched for a How to Use Digital Downloads in shopify help, came accross the "How To Use" video and the rest was a no brainer.
Digital Downloads works perfect for me.

Developer reply

November 17, 2020

Thanks for sharing this feedback. We have a great help document that outlines how to upload digital downloads here: https://bit.ly/2IIqtCq. If you're looking to attach digital downloads to an existing product instead, just make sure to follow these steps: https://bit.ly/3lSPrxH. Once a customer purchases a digital product, they will receive a link to download it on their end. You can read more details on this here: https://bit.ly/2UD7SdD.

If you'd prefer to speak with our team about this over the phone, please visit our Help Center (https://bit.ly/3kyE10s) to request a callback. However, I'm also going to follow up with you via email so we can chat through this process in more detail. I'll be in touch soon! - Rae, Shopify Support

Flettede Fugle

Basic functionality is missing and the app is not updated by the developer. I gave the following feedback several months ago: 1) You should be able to remove uploads 2) You should be able to set a fixed download expiration date after a purchase (e.g. 30 days) 3) You should be able to download from a purchased download-link even after a product has been deleted in store 4) You should be able to have different languages in the download mail 5) You should be able to send a file instead of a download link 6) You should be able to open the app in the Safari browser. I hope you will implement some of these features soon. 7) A column with “Upload Date” could also be useful in the dashboard. 8) And a column with "Sales Download Completed %” so you could see how many of the buyers that succeeded in downloading 9) And a column with a status on the product (as just implemented with "active" and “drafted”) with the addition of “deleted” 10) Name should be “product” and another column should be “variant” instead of the “-“ separator 11) “Attachment” should be renamed to “attachment file name”

Developer reply

November 13, 2020

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and for letting us know about the areas where you'd like to see the app improve. I'll be sending your feedback along to our developers so that our team can get a better idea of the features that merchants like yourself are looking for. - Oliver, Shopify Support

Pop of Pink Shop!

**DO NOT USE THIS APP. I would give negative 5 stars if possible. This app almost caused my Facebook ad account to be banned indefinitely due to the fact that a ton of my customers did not receive their files or was not able to download. This app caused my FB page to get negative reviews and a low satisfaction score. I would not recommend this app at all!! I never leave reviews but this app alone caused me to lose over $1000 in a day due to the fact that I was not able to run ads.

Developer reply

October 16, 2020

Thanks for leaving us a review. I'm sorry to hear that your experience with our app has been anything short of pleasant, and I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Have you reached out to our Support Team: (https://bit.ly/38VPpi9) regarding your customers' inability to download attachments? We're here 24/7 to provide technical support and business coaching to our merchants.

While I don't have additional information regarding Facebook's processes for reviewing advertisements, I did notice that "Subscriptions and digital products" are prohibited as per their public Commerce Policies here: (https://bit.ly/3o0z6YY). Is it possible that your attachments fall into this category?

I've gone ahead and sent you an email to gather more information regarding the technical issues your customers have been facing with their digital downloads. Let's get to the bottom of this and ensure everything is operating as needed for your business. Hope to hear from you soon! - Ryder, Shopify Support

Karimoos Ltd

Hello;
Unable to upload a zip file with 18MB !!!!
app needs more work and more improvements. and please remove your brand name when sending email to our customers.
Best regards

Developer reply

October 9, 2020

Thanks for sharing your experience. I'm sorry to hear that you've been unable to upload your file, and I'd be happy to see if we can figure out how to get it working for you. The maximum file size is 5GB, so 18MB shouldn't have a problem uploading; although, larger files may take longer to complete.

I've gone ahead and sent you an email for some more information, and to pass along your feedback regarding the sender email address to our developers. We can continue our conversation through there. Hope to hear from you soon! - Ryder, Shopify Support